1HAROLD K. FORSEN is a senior vice president of Bechtel Corporation. For many years he was responsible for Bechtel's overall corporate technology program and currently is with Bechtel Hanford, Inc., in Richland, Washington, with similar responsibilities. Previously he managed Exxon Nuclear Company's laser isotope separation program (1973-1981), and was professor of nuclear engineering at the University of Wisconsin (1965-1973), where he performed research in plasma physics and fusion reactor engineering. He received B.S. and M.S. degrees from Caltech, and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, all in electrical engineering. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

+GERHART FRIEDLANDER is a nuclear chemist, retired, from Brookhaven National Laboratory, where he worked from 1948 to 1992. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His principal research interests are in nuclear reactions and solar neutrino detection. He received a B.S. in chemistry and a Ph.D. in nuclear chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, and he holds honorary doctorates from Clark University and the University of Mainz (Germany).

B. JOHN GARRICK is president and CEO of PLG, Inc., an engineering, applied science, and management consulting firm. His principal accomplishments include his Ph.D. thesis that was the first to advocate quantitative risk assessments for nuclear power plants, building the first team to perform the initial comprehensive and quantitative risk assessment for the commercial nuclear power industry, being a major contributor to the methods employed in risk analysis, and a prime mover in elevating risk assessment to a science and engineering discipline. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the American Nuclear Society, the Society for Risk Analysis, and the Institute for the Advancement of Engineering. In 1994 he was appointed to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste. He is past president of the Society for Risk Analysis and has published approximately 200 papers and reports on risk, reliability, engineering, and technology. He received a Ph.D. in engineering and applied science from the University of California, Los Angeles.

+2JOHN M. GOOGIN was a nuclear physicist and senior staff consultant to the Oak Ridge National Laboratory Y-12 Plant, Martin Marietta Energy Systems, from 1983 to 1994. He received several awards including the Orlando Lawrence Memorial Award, the Fellow of American Society for Metals, the McGraw Hill's Chemical Engineering Award, and the National Academy of Engineering's William J. Kroll Zirkonium Medal. He received a B.S. in physics from Bates College, a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from the University of Tennessee, and an honorary doctorate from Bates College.


Served as member until August 5, 1993, after which time he served as an unpaid consultant to the committee.


Deceased January 1994.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement