Click for next page ( R2

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page R1
THE NATIONAL ACADEMIES PRESS 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001 NOTICE: The project that is the subject of this summary was approved by the Governing Board of the National Research Council, whose members are drawn from the councils of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine. This summary is available on the internet from the National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Lockbox 285, Washington, D.C. 20055, (800) 624-6242 or (202) 334-3313 (in the Washington metropolitan area); internet OCR for page R1
THE NATIONAL ACADEMIES At]isers to the Nation on Science, Engineering, and Medirine The National A a~em~ol:~Seienees is a private, nonprofit, self-perpetuating society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Upon the authority of the charter granted to it by the Congress in 1863, the Academy has a mandate that requires it to advise the federal government on scientific and technical matters. Dr. Bruce NI. Alberts is president of the National Academy of Sciences. The ~ ~ ~~ was established in 1964, under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences, as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the National Academy of Sciences the responsibility for advising the federal government. The National Academy of Engineering also sponsors engineering programs aimed at meeting national needs, encourages education and research, and recognizes the superior achievements of engineers. Dr. Wm. A. Wulf is president of the National Academy of Engineering. The It~st-it~:e `~f Mere was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to secure the services of eminent members of appropriate professions in the examination of policy matters pertaining to the health of the public. The Institute acts under the responsibility given to the National Academy of Sciences by its congressional charter to be an adviser to the federal government and, upon its own initiative, to identify issues of medical care, research, and education. Dr. Harvey V. Fineberg is president of the Institute of Medicine. The _at~nal Reseat ch (council was organized by the National Academy of Sciences in 1916 to associate the broad community of science and technology with the Academy's purposes of furthering knowledge and advising the federal government. Functioning in accordance with general policies determined by the Academy, the Council has become the principal operating agency of both the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering in providing services to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The Council is administered jointly by both Academies and the Institute of NIedicine. Dr. Bruce NI. Alberts and Dr. Wm. A. Wulf are chair and vice chair, respectively, of the National Research Council

OCR for page R1
the address below. Disasters Roundtable -Lloyd N.~i<-~;~! .~aclc~ic 500 5th Street, NW Washington, DC 20001 Phone: 202-334-1964 Fax: 202-334-1961 F O REWO RD The Disasters Roundtable (DR) seeks to facilitate and enhance communication and the exchange of ideas among scientists, practitioners, and policymakers concerned with urgent and important issues related to natural, technological, and other disasters. Roundtable meetings are held three times a year in Washington, D.C. , ~ , Each meeting is an open workshop focused on a specific topic or issue selected by the DR Steering Committee. For upcoming meetings, please visit http: / / The Disasters Roundtable Steering Committee is composed of five appointed members and sponsoring ex-off~cio members. The appointed members are William H. Hooke, chair, American Meteorological Society; David Applegate, American Geological Institute; Ross B. Corotis, University of Colorado, Boulder; Ann-\Iargaret Esnard, Cornell University; Ellis M. Stanley, Sr., Emergency Preparedness Department of the City of Los Angeles; Richard T. Sylves, University of Delaware; and Susan I<. Tubbesing, Earthquake Engineering Research Institute, Oakland. The ex-off~cio members are Lloyd Cluff, Pacific Gas & Electric; Dennis Wenger, National Science Foundation; Timothy A. Cohn, US Geological Survey; Stephen Ambrose, National Aeronautics and Space Administration; Margaret Lawless, Federal Emergency Management Agency; Deborah Dietrich, US Environmental Protection Agency; lames Russell, Institute for Business and Home Safety; and Helen Blood, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The OR staff are William Anderson, director; Patricia Ones I