experience and nearly a decade of college-level preservice teacher education work. His efforts have been directed toward development of educational materials on problem-solving and technology and the impacts of technology on people and the environment. He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland.

P.Uri Treisman is professor of mathematics and director of the Charles A. Dana Center at The University of Texas at Austin. He serves as executive director of the National Science Foundation-funded Texas Statewide Systemic Initiative and is president of the board of the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications. For his research at the University of California at Berkeley on the factors that support high achievement among minority students in calculus, he received the 1987 Charles A. Dana Award for Pioneering Achievement in American Higher Education. In 1992, he was named a MacArthur Fellow and in December 1999, he was named as one of the outstanding leaders in higher education in the 20th century by the magazine Black Issues in Higher Education. Dr. Treisman serves on many national committees, boards, and commissions concerned with mathematics education. He has served on the National Research Council’s Coordinating Council for Mathematics, Science and Engineering Education and currently serves on the Committee on a Strategic Education Research Plan for the United States. He is an advisor to national groups including the Department of Defense’s Secondary Education Transition Study, which examines the consequences of high mobility among high-school-aged students in military families. He received his Ph.D. at the University of California at Berkeley in 1985.

Marc Tucker is president of the National Center on Education and the Economy, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, DC. Mr. Tucker serves as co-director of New Standards, a national program to create internationally benchmarked academic standards and matching performance examinations for the schools. He served

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement