manufacture of adipic acid and hexamethylenediamine and to increase the value of coproduct streams from these processes and had responsibility for the on-site chemical pilot plant facility. In 1994, she was promoted to manager, product technology, in the Saflex business and moved to Springfield, Massachusetts, where she created and participated in a leadership team focusing on product and process improvements. After 21/2 years in Saflex, she returned to Pensacola as the manager of an R&D group responsible for technology supporting the carpet business. In 1997, Dr. Davis moved to her current position at corporate headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri. Her responsibilities include growth programs and existing technologies for heat transfer fluids, aviation fluids, metalworking fluids, and L-aspartic acid.

Nancy H. Hopkins is the Amgen, Inc., Professor of Molecular and Development Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She obtained a B.A. from Radcliffe College in 1964 and a Ph.D. from the Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry at Harvard University in 1971. Her Ph.D. thesis, carried out in the laboratory of Mark Ptashne, dealt with gene expression in the bacterial virus lambda. Her postdoctoral research, under James D. Watson at Harvard and at the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, involved DNA tumor viruses. In 1973, she joined the MIT faculty as an assistant professor in the Center for Cancer Research, within the Biology Department, where she worked on mechanisms of replication and leukemogenesis by RNA tumor viruses for 17 years. She was promoted to associate professor in 1976, tenured in 1979, and promoted to professor in 1982. Nine years ago, Dr. Hopkins switched fields to work in developmental biology. Her laboratory first developed techniques for making transgenic zebrafish and is now using these techniques to isolate a significant fraction of the genes required for the normal development of the zebrafish embryo.

Dr. Hopkins is the author of numerous scientific papers in the fields of bacterial and animal viruses and in developmental biology, and she wrote, with four others, the fourth edition of the textbook The Molecular Biology of the Gene. She codeveloped and taught the first freshman biology course required of all MIT undergraduates, for which she was named a Class of 1960 Fellow. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) and a member of the Institute of Medicine. In 1995 she was appointed chair of the first Committee on Women Faculty in the School of Science at MIT.

Debra R. Rolison is head of Advanced Electrochemical Materials at the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL). She received a B.S. in chemistry from Florida Atlantic University in 1975 and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980 under the direction of Royce W. Murray. Dr. Rolison joined the Naval Research Laboratory as a research chemist in 1980. Her research at NRL focuses on the influence of nanoscale domains on electron- and charge-transfer reactions, with special emphasis on the surface and materials science of aerogels, electrocatalysts, and zeolites. Her program creates new nanostructured materials and composites for catalytic chemistries, energy storage and conversion (fuel cells, supercapacitors, batteries, thermoelectric devices), and sensors.

Dr. Rolison is a member of the American Chemical Society, AAAS, the International Zeolite Association, the Materials Research Society, and the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (SEAC). She wrote Ultramicroelectrodes, the first textbook in this very active research area of electrochemistry, with Martin Fleischmann, Stanley Pons, and Peter Schmidt. She and Henry White guest-edited an issue of Langmuir devoted to the electrochemistry of nanostructured materials (February 1999). Dr. Rolison was a member of the Advisory Board for Analytical Chemistry and is a current member of the editorial boards of the Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry and Langmuir. She is a member of the Board of Directors for the SEAC and has served since 1997 as editor of the society's newsletter, SEAC Communications.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement