Biographical Sketches of Committee Members

Robert W.Fri, Chair, is director of the National Museum of Natural History at the Smithsonian Institution, and is senior fellow emeritus at Resources for the Future, where he served as president from 1986 to 1995. Before joining the Smithsonian, Mr. Fri served in both the public and private sectors, specializing in energy and environmental issues. In 1971 he became the first deputy administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency. In 1975, President Ford appointed him as the deputy administrator of the Energy Research and Development Administration. He served as acting administrator of both agencies for extended periods. From 1978 to 1986, Mr. Fri headed his own company, Energy Transition Corporation. He began his career with McKinsey & Company, where he was elected a principal. Mr. Fri is a senior advisor to private, public, and nonprofit organizations. He serves as a director of American Electric Power Company. He is currently a member of the National Petroleum Council, the U.S. Committee for the International Institute of Applied Systems Analysis, and the advisory board of the Center for the Integrated Study of the Human Dimensions of Global Change at Carnegie Mellon University. Mr. Fri is also a member of the University of Chicago Board of Governors for the Argonne National Laboratory. He received his B.A. in physics from Rice University and his M.B.A. (with distinction) from Harvard University and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and Sigma Xi.

William Agnew retired as director, Programs and Plans, General Motors Research Laboratories in 1989. He served in the Manhattan District from 1944 to 1946 and attended Purdue University from 1946 to 1952. From 1952 to 1989, he held a number of positions at GM Research Laboratories including department head, Fuels and Lubricants; head, Emissions Research Department; technical director, Engine Research, Engineering Mechanics, Mechanical Research, Fluid Dynamics, and Fuels and Lubricants departments; technical director, Biomedical Science, Environmental Science, Societal Analysis, and Transportation Research departments. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. His technical expertise spans internal combustion engines, gas turbines, engine performance, automotive air pollution, and automotive power plants. He has a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Purdue University.

Peter D.Blair is executive director of the Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences of the National Research Council (NRC). Prior to joining the NRC, he was executive director of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society. He has held a number of positions related to energy technology, energy policy, and energy economics. At the congressional Office of Technology Assessment (OTA), he was assistant director and director of the Division of Industry, Commerce and International Security. Formerly, he was program manager of energy and materials. In those positions, he was responsible for OTA’s research on energy and materials, transportation, infrastructure, international security and space, industry, and commerce. Dr. Blair was a cofounder and principal of Technecon Consulting Group, Inc., specializing in investment decisions related to, and management of, independent power projects, as well as contract research in the area of energy and environmental systems. His primary areas of interest are energy management, systems engineering, and energy policy analysis. He has a Ph.D. in energy management and policy from the University of Pennsylvania.

Ralph Cavanagh codirects the Energy Program of the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), a nonprofit environment-advocacy organization that he joined in 1979. Mr. Cavanagh was a member of the board of E-Source, a Colorado-based energy services company, from 1992 until 1999. He has held appointments as a visiting professor at the Stanford and Boalt Hall (University of California at Berkeley) law schools and as a lecturer on law at the Harvard Law School. Before arriving at NRDC, Mr. Cavanagh was employed by the Department of Justice as an attorney advisor. He is a past member of the Energy Engineering Board of the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement