Geologists, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He has served on numerous federal government committees and councils and NRC committees. He has expertise in energy policy, oil and gas resources and recovery, fossil fuel exploitation and technology, geology, and mineral resource policy. He has a Ph.D. in geology from the University of Kansas.

Robert Hall is currently president, CDG Management, Inc. He held a number of positions at Amoco Corporation including general manager, Alternative Fuels Development; manager, Management Systems and Planning; manager, IS Strategic Planning; director, Amoco Oil R&D Department; and supervisor, Amoco Chemical Process Design and Economics. He has extensive experience in planning and management of technology innovation in the areas of petroleum refining, petrochemicals, alternative fuels, process design, and process economics. He served on the NRC Committee on Production Technologies for Liquid Transportation Fuels, the NRC Committee on Strategic Assessment of the Department of Energy’s Coal Program, and the NRC Committee on Review of the Research Strategy for Biomass-Derived Transportation Fuels, and was past chairman of the International Council on Alternate Fuels. He has a B.S. in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

George M.Hidy is a consultant in energy and environmental engineering. He formerly was Alabama Industries Professor of Environmental Engineering at the University of Alabama, where he was also a professor of environmental health science in the School of Public Health. From 1987 to 1994, he was technical vice president of the Electric Power Research Institute, where he managed the Environmental Division and was a member of the Management Council. From 1984 to 1987, he was president of the Desert Research Institute of the University of Nevada. He has held a variety of other scientific positions in universities and industry and has made significant contributions to research on the environmental impacts of energy use, including atmospheric diffusion and mass transfer, aerosol dynamics, and chemistry. He is the author of many articles and books on these and related topics. Dr. Hidy received a B.S. in chemistry and chemical engineering from Columbia University, an M.S.E. in chemical engineering from Princeton University, and a D.Eng. in chemical engineering from Johns Hopkins University.

David C.Mowery is Milton W.Terrill Professor of Business at the Walter A.Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley. His research on the economics of technological innovation and the effects of public policies on innovation helped the committee respond to the statement of task. Dr. Mowery has served on a number of National Research Council committees and boards, has testified before congressional committees, and has served as an advisor to various federal agencies and industrial firms. He also serves as deputy director of the Consortium on Competitiveness and Cooperation, a multiuniversity research alliance dedicated to research on technology and management and U.S. competitiveness. His academic awards include the Raymond Vernon Prize from the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management, the Economic History Association’s Fritz Redlich Prize, the Business History Review’s Newcomen Prize, and the Cheit Outstanding Teaching Award. He received his undergraduate and Ph.D. degrees in economics from Stanford University.

James Dexter Peach is an independent consultant. He retired as assistant comptroller general of the General Accounting Office (GAO), where he managed the division responsible for the GAO’s work on energy, environment, natural resources, transportation, housing, and agricultural issues and served as GAO’s principal advisor to the Congress on energy and environmental issues. Mr. Peach also managed GAO’s strategic planning and quality control systems and helped design evaluation strategies for government programs under the Government Performance and Results Act. He received a B.S. in business administration from the University of South Carolina, an M.S. in public administration from George Washington University, and attended executive training at Harvard Business School and Dartmouth College.

Maxine L.Savitz is general manager, Technology/Partnerships, Honeywell. She has held a number of positions in the federal and private sectors managing large R&D programs. Some of her positions included chief, Buildings Conservation Policy Research, Federal Energy Administration; professional manager, Research Applied to National Needs, National Science Foundation; division director, Buildings and Industrial Conservation, Energy Research and Development Administration; deputy assistant secretary for Conservation, Department of Energy; president, Lighting Research Institute; and general manager, Ceramic Components, AlliedSignal, Inc. She has extensive technical experience in materials, fuel cells, batteries and other storage devices, energy efficiency, and R&D management. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and has been, or is serving as, a member of numerous public- and private-sector boards and has served on many energy-related and other NRC committees. She has a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Jack S.Siegel is a principal with the consulting firm of Energy Resources International, Inc., and president of its Technology and Markets Group. While at the Department of Energy (DOE), he held various positions of leadership, including deputy assistant secretary for Coal Technology and acting assistant secretary for Fossil Energy. Before that, he was at the Environmental Protection Agency and led efforts

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement