scientific and advisory groups, including service as the deputy executive director of the congressionally chartered Commission on the Roles and Missions of the Armed Forces.

Seymour J.Deitchman is an independent consultant in matters relating to national security, R&D management, and systems evaluation. A mechanical and aeronautical engineer by training and earlier experience, Mr. Deitchman served as vice president for programs at the Institute for Defense Analyses. Mr. Deitchman once served as special assistant in the Office of the Secretary of Defense, where he established and oversaw the DOD program of R&D in support of U.S. military operations in Southeast Asia. He also served as director of overseas defense research at the Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA), where he was responsible for planning and executing ARPA’s specific R&D program on counterinsurgency and related technical matters in the same area. He has been a member of numerous government and scientific advisory groups, an occasional lecturer at the National War College and Industrial College of the Armed Forces, and a U.S. delegate to the NATO Defense Research Group. Mr. Deitchman was recently honored by the Military Operations Research Society as its 2000 Wanner Award recipient. Mr. Deitchman is currently a member of the NSB.

Albert J.Baciocco, Jr., retired from the U.S. Navy as a Vice Admiral in 1987 after 34 years of distinguished service, principally within the nuclear submarine force and directing the Navy Department research and technology development enterprise. He graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1953 with a B.S. degree in engineering. Upon retirement from the Navy, Admiral Baciocco formed the Baciocco Group, Inc., a technical and management consulting practice providing services to industry primarily in the areas of strategic planning, technology investment and application, and business planning and development. Admiral Baciocco is a director of American Superconductor Corporation and is associated with several new technology business enterprises. In addition, he serves on several boards and committees of government, industry, and academe, among them the board of trustees for the South Carolina Research Authority and on the board of directors for the University of South Carolina Research Institute and the Foundation for Research Development at the Medical University of South Carolina. In addition, he serves as chair of the Southeastern Universities Research Association’s Maritime Technical Advisory Committee to the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Laboratory in Newport News, Virginia. Admiral Baciocco is the recipient of Florida Atlantic University’s Honorary Doctorate in Ocean Engineering. Admiral Baciocco is currently a member of the NSB.

Arthur B.Baggeroer is the Ford Professor of Engineering for Ocean Science in the Departments of Ocean and Electrical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). A member of the NAE, Dr. Baggeroer’s research

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement