deposition within the extracellular matrices of bones, teeth, ligaments, and tendons in mammals using solution, cell culture, and in vivo models. Dr. Boskey had experiments fly on the space shuttle in 1994 and 1996 and has served on NIH-NASA advisory panels. She is a past president of the Orthopedic Research Society, and she served on the NRC Task Group for the Evaluation of NASA’s Biotechnology Facility for the International Space Station, 1999–2000.

John F.Brady, NAE, is the Chevron Professor of Chemical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology. His awards and honors include the Joliot-Curie Professorship, Ecole Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles, Paris, France (1988 and 1996); ASEE Curtis W.McGraw Research Award (1993); Corrsin Lecture in Fluid Mechanics, Johns Hopkins University (1995); J.M.Burgers Professor, Twente University, The Netherlands (1997); the G.K.Batchelor Lecture in Fluid Mechanics, DAMTP, University of Cambridge, England (1997); and the Professional Progress Award, AIChE (1988). Dr. Brady’s research interests cover suspensions and colloids, applied mathematics and computational physics, fluid mechanics, and transport processes.

Jay C.Buckey, Jr., is a research associate professor of medicine at Dartmouth Medical School. He was coinvestigator on cardiovascular experiments on the SLS-1 space shuttle mission and was an alternate payload specialist for the SLS-2 space shuttle mission. In 1998 he flew as a payload specialist astronaut on the Neurolab space mission, STS-90, which focused on the effects of microgravity on the brain and nervous system. Dr. Buckey is immediate past president of the American Society of Gravitational and Space Biology and a member of the NRC Committee on Space Biology and Medicine.

Meredith B.Colket III is principal research scientist, AeroThermodynamics, United Technologies Research Center (UTRC). Dr. Colket has directed and/or participated in research in chemical kinetics, CVD processes, coal devolatilization, combustion of alternate fuels, measurement of nitric oxide, probe phenomena, fuels research, coking studies, soot formation (modeling and experiments), NOx formation and control, catalytic combustion processes, and development of combustion models and pollutant submodels for CFD codes. Dr. Colket is serving or has served as program manager/principal investigator for several projects. His most recent projects include Mitigation of Particulate Formation in Engines via Fuel Additives, Fundamentals of Soot Formation in Gas Turbine Combustors, and Mechanisms Controlling Soot Formation in Diffusion Flames. He was the recipient of UTRC awards in several categories, including the 1989 Special Award for work on soot formation modeling, the 1990 Special Award for work on endothermic fuels, the 1992 UTRC Outstanding Achievement Award for work on a new catalytic combustion concept, and the 1997 Outstanding Achievement Award for contributing to development of a low NOx combustor. Dr. Colket is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Combustion Institute, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He has served as a member of the Discipline Working Group, Microgravity Combustion Science, since 1999 and as chair, Eastern States Section of the Combustion Institute, 1999–2001, and member, Advisory Committee 21st Symposium on Combustion, 1986.

Herman Z.Cummins, NAS, is Distinguished Professor of Physics at City College of the City University of New York. Dr. Cummins directs a program of laser light-scattering studies of liquids and solids. His major effort is in the study of phase transitions and critical phenomena, most recently involving the liquid-glass transition, using Raman and Brillouin scattering and photon correlation spectroscopy. He is noted as the coinventor of the laser Doppler velocimetry and pioneered light-scattering techniques to study the diffusion, size, and shape of particles in solution. His research has been concerned primarily with the application of light-scattering spectroscopy to a variety of problems in physics and materials science, primarily phase transitions and critical phenomena.

John H.Hopps, Jr., Northwestern University, is a former provost and senior vice president for academic affairs and professor of physics at Morehouse College. Prior to his position at Morehouse, he was

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement