Lee D.Peterson is an associate professor of aerospace engineering sciences at the University of Colorado, Boulder. He has been an associate professor or assistant professor at the University of Colorado since 1991. Dr. Peterson is also director of the McDonnell-Douglas Aerospace Structural Dynamics and Control Laboratory and is a member of the multidisciplinary Center for Aerospace Structures. His principal area of research is in high-precision deployable spacecraft structures for use in optical telescopes and interferometers. His research group has experimentally characterized and modeled a new class of nonlinear mechanics that limits the stability of such space structures at nanometer levels of motion. He has also made research contributions in experimental structural dynamics, system identification, parameter identification joint modeling, and active structural control. Dr. Peterson is also actively involved in the University of Colorado’s new undergraduate aerospace curriculum and served as the technical director of the Integrated Teaching and Learning Laboratory from 1995 to 1997. From 1989 to 1991, Dr. Peterson was assistant professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University. From 1987 to 1989, he was a member of the technical staff at Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Kitt C.Reinhardt is an electrical engineer conducting photovoltaic device research and development in the Space Vehicles Directorate of the U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, Albuquerque, New Mexico. Dr. Reinhardt was the Air Force nominee and the year 2000 winner of the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement, an early career award based on Dr. Reinhardt’s pioneering work in the development of high-efficiency, multijunction solar cells as well as ultralightweight flexible thin-film photovoltaics for next-generation space systems. Dr. Reinhardt led the successful development and commercialization of the first 25 percent-efficient space solar cell, as well as the invention and current development of the first 30–35 percent efficient space solar cell. In addition, he has been instrumental in several revolutionary areas, such as thin-film photovoltaics and advanced thermal-to-electric conversion. Most recently, Dr. Reinhardt, together with Hong Hou from Sandia National Laboratories, invented an entirely new approach capable of achieving 35–40 percent solar-to-electric conversion with a four-junction solar cell design. A patent for the device was granted in August 1999.

R.Rhoads (Rody) Stephenson retired from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in 1998, where he had been deputy director of the JPL technology program since 1991 and acting director since 1995. The technology program included all of JPL’s technology development efforts, including robotics and its space power work. In this capacity, Dr. Stephenson was involved in many studies of space power beaming to Earth. He also worked, in conjunction with Langley Research Center, on large space structures and the JPL program on control-structures interaction, providing a technology base for the space interferometer project. Between 1981 and 1991, Dr. Stephenson was manager of the Electronics and Control Division at JPL. The division included the power section, which had responsibility for all forms of space power, including solar power, and it participated in solar cell development and testing and in the solar power beam transmission studies of that period. Most recently in his 36-year career at JPL, the laboratory turned to Dr. Stephenson to serve as a member of the Galileo and Cassini Review Boards, to chair the Mars Pathfinder Board, and to lead the internal failure Review Board for the Mars Observer mission.

Dava Newman, Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board liaison to the Committee for the Assessment of NASA’s Space Solar Power Technical Investment Strategy, is an associate professor of aeronautics and astronautics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a MacVicar faculty fellow. She conducts multidisciplinary efforts combining aerospace bioengineering, human-in-the-loop dynamics and control modeling, biomechanics, human interface technology, life sciences, and systems analysis and design. Dr. Newman served as a member of the NRC Committee on Advanced Technology for Human Support in Space and the Committee on Engineering Challenges to the Long-Term Operation of the International Space Station.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement