and has written four books and 140 published articles about transportation and land use, the environmental impacts of transportation, and transportation finance.

John B.Heywood is director, Sloan Automotive Laboratory and Sun Jae Professor of Mechanical Engineering Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Research Interests Transportation technology, and especially engines, is his primary area of engineering interest. Much of his research, writing and teaching have focused on understanding and explaining the processes which govern the operation and design of internal combustion engines (both spark-ignition and diesel engines), and their fuels requirements. Major research themes include engine combustion, pollutant formation processes and engine and vehicle emissions, factors affecting engine performance and efficiency, engine friction, lubrication and wear. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the NRC Committee to Review the Research Program of the Partnership for a New Generation of Vehicles.

Trevor O.Jones, is chairman and founder of BIOMEC, Incorporated, a biomedical device company. He was formerly chairman of the board of Echlin, Incorporated, a supplier of automotive components primarily to the after-market. Mr. Jones is also chairman and CEO of International Development Corporation, a private management consulting company that advises automotive supplier companies on strategy and technology. He was chairman, president, and CEO (retired) of Libby-Owens-Ford Company, a major manufacturer of glass for automotive and construction applications. Previously, he was an officer of TRW, Incorporated, serving as vice president of engineering in the company’s Automotive Worldwide Sector and group vice president, Transportation Electronics Group. Prior to joining TRW, he was employed by General Motors (GM) in many aerospace and automotive executive positions, including director of GM Proving Grounds and director of GM Advanced Product Engineering Group. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and a former commissioner of the National Research Council (NRC). Mr. Jones was chairman of the NRC Standing Committee on the Partnership for a New Generation Vehicle (PNGV) from 1993 to 2000. Mr. Jones has served on several other NRC study committees, including the Committee for a Strategic Transportation Research Study on Highway Safety, and chaired the NAE Steering Committee on the Impact of Products Liability Law on Innovation.

Ralph Gakenheimer, Department of Urban Studies and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Ralph Gakenheimer is an urban planner interested in urban infrastructure and transportation in the developing countries and in the United States, with an emphasis on planning process, institutional development, and the relationship between methodologies and decision making. He has lived about seven years abroad, working on problems of urban planning in the developing world for public agencies, universities, foundations, international agencies and consultants. The countries include: Peru, Chile, Egypt, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Colombia, Lebanon, Honduras, Costa Rica, Bolivia, Venezuela, Argentina, Thailand, Mexico, Sri Lanka, China and El Salvador. He has headed an MIT faculty team on strategic planning for Bangkok. He is researcher in the MIT-based Cooperative Mobility Program in search of solutions attractive to all mobility stake-holders. He is currently a member of a research group examining alternative policies for the Pearl River

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement