Biographies of Committee Members

Milton H. Ward (chair), president of Ward Resources, Inc. was previously president and chief executive officer of Cyprus Amax Minerals Company, president and chief operating officer of Freeport Minerals Company, and an officer of a number of other public companies. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his leadership in developing, building, and operating major mineral production facilities in remote and challenging environments. He is currently a member of the advisory board of the Geoscience and Environmental Center, Sandia National Laboratories. Dr. Ward is former chairman of the Board of Directors of the American Mining Congress (predecessor to the National Mining Association). He served on Tulane University’s Board of Administrators and as the Advisory Committee chairman for Tulane University Bioenvironmental Research Center. He received a B.S. and M.S. in mining engineering from the University of Alabama, an M.B.A. from the University of New Mexico, a Ph.D. from the University of London Royal School of Mining, and an honorary Ph.D. from the Colorado School of Mines.

Jonathan G. Price (vice-chair) is state geologist and director of the Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology. He was president of the American Institute of Professional Geologists in 1997 and is president of the Association of American State Geologists for 2000–2001. His prior experience includes positions with the Anaconda Company; U.S. Steel Corporation; Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas at Austin; and the National Research Council (NRC). His research and publications address mineral resources, geology and geochemistry of ore deposits, igneous petrology, tectonics, geologic hazards, geologic mapping, environmental geochemistry, and solution mining. He was a member of the NRC Board on Earth Sciences and Resources panel that produced Mineral Resources and Society: A Review of the U.S. Geological Survey’s Mineral Resource Surveys Program Plan (1996) and Hardrock Mining on Federal Lands (1999).

Robert Ray Beebe, a consultant based in Tucson, Arizona, is a retired executive of both Homestake Mining Company and Newmont Mining Corporation. He received his B.S. and M.S. in metallurgical engineering from Montana School of Mines and holds that institution’s Silver and Gold Medals. Early in his career, he taught at several mining schools and did research at the Mines Experiment Station of the University of Minnesota and Battelle Memorial Institute. He is a distinguished member of the Society of Mining Engineers, a member of the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society, a member and past president of the Mining and Metallurgical Society of America, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. His areas of expertise include mining and mineral processing of ferrous and nonferrous metals. He has chaired the Bureau of Mines Advisory Board, the Mineral Engineering Advisory Committee of the University of California, Berkeley, and the Mineral Engineering Advisory Committee of Montana Tech. He is also a director at the National Advanced Drilling and Excavation Technologies Institute. A long-time NRC volunteer, Mr. Beebe has served on the National Materials Advisory Board and a number of committees, most recently as joint chair of the Committee on the Impact of Selling the National Helium Reserve.

Corale L. Brierley, an independent consultant, was chief of environmental process development at Newmont Mining Corporation, president of Advanced Mineral Technologies Inc., and chemical microbiologist, New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resources. Her research interests include biogenic extractive metallurgy, biological treatment methods for inorganic wastes, and thermophilic chemautotrophic microorganisms. She is the author of 70 publications and holds 5 patents in the field of biotechnology applications in mineral processing and waste treatment. She served on the NRC Committee on Research Programs of the U.S. Bureau of Mines and the Committee on Ground Water Recharge. She was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for “innovations in applying biotechnology to mine production

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement