intelligence, including (panel member) Bill Crowell, president and chief executive officer of Cylink, and John Hamre, president and chief executive officer of the Center for Strategic and International Studies.


Chaired by STCT committee member Mortimer L. Downey, the Transportation Panel consisted of 16 members with expertise in transportation operations and administration; research and technology; and safety, security, and law enforcement. The panel convened twice and communicated by e-mail and conference calls over a 3-month period. During its meetings, the panel received briefings on the security-related R&D activities of most of the modal agencies within the U.S. Department of Transportation. Thanks are due to Steven Ditmeyer, Federal Railroad Administration; James O’Steen and Frits Wybenga, Research and Special Programs Administration; David Price and Michael Trentacoste, Federal Highway Administration; Douglas McKelvey, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration; Lyle Malotky, Federal Aviation Administration; William Siegel, Federal Transit Administration; Captain James Evans, U.S. Coast Guard; and Richard John and Michael Dinning of the Volpe National Transportation Systems Center. Thomas Day, vice president for engineering, U.S. Postal Service, also made valuable contributions to the panel’s considerations.

The panel also met with other experts outside government. Joseph Del Balzo, JDA Aviation Technology Solutions, discussed technological possibilities for computerized prescreening of passenger traffic to enhance aviation security. Thomas Hartwick discussed the state of sensor and screening technologies and systems for improving aviation security. Raja Parasuraman, Catholic University, and Victor Riley, Honeywell Corporation, discussed the role of human factors in the design, development, and deployment of security technologies and systems. The panel extends its gratitude to all four for their valuable contributions.

In addition, the panel wishes to thank Stephen McHale, Deputy Under Secretary for Transportation Security, and Paul Busick, Acting Associate Administrator for Civil Aviation Security. Both briefed the panel on the status of the newly created Transportation Security Administration and welcomed panel member ideas and comments.


Chaired by STCT committee member Paul H. Gilbert, the Energy Facilities, Cities, and Fixed Infrastructure Panel consisted of nine members with experience in the electricity, oil, and gas sectors, and in buildings and other structures, water systems, and in vulnerability to attacks. The panel worked intensively, meeting

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement