American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Society of Great Britain, and the Royal Society of Chemistry of London, as well as honorary membership in the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Japanese Chemical Society. He received the Columbia University Great Teacher Award and the Mark van Doren Medal for teaching, also awarded by Columbia University. He has BS and PhD degrees in chemistry from Harvard University, as well as a master’s in medical science, also from Harvard.

James Gentile is dean for the natural sciences at Hope College in Holland, Michigan. His research focuses on the connection between inflammation and cancer. He is currently editor-in-chief for the journal Mutation Research. He has received the Cancer Research Medallion from the National Cancer Institute of Japan, among other awards. He has served as a member of the Science Advisory Board for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He is a former president of the Environmental Mutagen Society, which awarded him the Student Educator of the Year Award in 1998. He is a past council member of the Council on Undergraduate Research. He also serves on the executive committee for Project Kaleidoscope. He is currently serving on the NRC’s Committee on Undergraduate Education. He has been program director for grants from HHMI, NSF, and the W.M. Keck Foundation to improve undergraduate science education at Hope College. His bachelor’s degree is from St. Mary’s University in Minnesota and PhD from Illinois State University.

David M. Hillis is director of the School of Biological Sciences and Roark Centennial Professor in the Section of Integrative Biology and the Institute of Cellular and Molecular Biology at the University of Texas at Austin. His research is on the evolution of biotic diversity and uses the techniques of molecular genetics to study relationships among populations, species, and higher taxa. He received the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1987 and the MacArthur Fellowship in 1999. He is a past president of the Society of Systematic Biologists, president of the Society for the Study of Evolution, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He received his undergraduate degree from Baylor University and a PhD in biological sciences from the University of Kansas.

John Hopfield is Howard A. Prior Professor in the Life Sciences and professor of molecular biology at Princeton University. His research encompasses neurobiology and computing networks. He is a member of the Na-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement