• the secretariats of the CBD, CMS, UNCCD, UNFCCC and the Millennium Ecosystem Assessment

  • the Society of Wetland Scientists

  • [the International Association of Limnology]

  • [the Global Wetlands Economics Network]

  • the International Mire Conservation Group

  • the International Peat Society

  • the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), Columbia University, USA

  • the International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA)

  • The Nature Conservancy (TNC)

  • Ducks Unlimited (Canada, Mexico, and USA)

  • The World Resources Institute (WRI)

  • The Institute for Inland Water Management and Wastewater Treatment (RIZA) (The Netherlands)

  1. FURTHER EMPHASIZES the value of participation by STRP members in meetings of the COP and Standing Committee, and REQUESTS Contracting Parties, the Standing Committee, and the Ramsar Bureau all to do their utmost to secure any additional funding which might be necessary for this purpose;

  1. REAFFIRMS that the membership of the STRP shall have the same regional structure as the Standing Committee, as established in Resolution VII. 1; and that the same proportional system that the Standing Committee will apply for determining its composition; and that, in order to attain equitable representation on the subsidiary bodies of the Convention, members of the STRP ought, as far as possible, to come from Contracting Parties different from those Parties elected to the Standing Committee;

  1. ENDORSES the establishment of a post in the Bureau to assist the Deputy Secretary General in the day-to-day support of the work of the Panel and its Working Groups and the development of the STRP National Focal Points network.]

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement