Meredith B. Colket III is a fellow at United Technologies Research Center (UTRC). Dr. Colket has directed and/or participated in research in chemical kinetics, CVD processes, coal devolatilization, combustion of alternative fuels, measurement of nitric oxide, probe phenomena, fuels research, coking studies, soot formation (modeling and experiments), NO formation and control, catalytic combustion processes, and development of combustion models and pollutant submodels for CFD codes. He is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Combustion Institute, AAAS, and AIAA. He has served as a member of the Microgravity Combustion Science Discipline Working Group since 1999; as chair of the Eastern States Section of the Combustion Institute, 1999-2001; and as a member, Advisory Committee 21st Symposium on Combustion, 1986.

Herman Z. Cummins, NAS, is the Distinguished Professor of Physics at City College of the City University of New York, where he directs a program of laser light-scattering studies of liquids and solids. His major effort is in the study of phase transitions and critical phenomena, most recently involving the liquid-glass transition, using Raman and Brillouin scattering and photon correlation spectroscopy. He is noted as the coinventor of laser Doppler velocimetry and pioneered light-scattering techniques to study diffusion, size, and shape of particles in solution. His research has concerned primarily the application of light-scattering spectroscopy to a variety of problems in physics and materials science.

Lynette Jones is a principal research scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her primary research is on the human proprioceptive system and the role of muscle and cutaneous mechanoreceptors in sensory processes. This research has led to studies of haptic interfaces that are used to interact with computer-generated virtual environments and teleoperated robots. She also does research on the development of wearable health-monitoring devices and is involved in developing a portable system to evaluate the visual-vestibular system. Dr. Jones is a member of the Society for Neuroscience and the NRC Committee on Space Biology and Medicine.

Alan Lawley, NAE, is the Grosvenor Professor of Metallurgy in the Department of Materials Engineering at Drexel University. Dr. Lawley's professional interests and activities involve teaching and research in the areas of physical and mechanical metallurgy, powder metallurgy, composite materials, materials engineering design, and engineering education. The overall mission of his research is to develop and exploit the science base of powder technology and to identify the complex relationships that exist between processing, microstructure, and properties, with a strong emphasis on particulate processing science. His current research focuses on the press and sinter processing of new ferrous alloys, and spray forming. Dr. Lawley is a fellow of APMI International and ASM International, is a former president of the Metallurgical Society (1982) and of the AIME (1987), has consulted extensively for government and industry, and served as a member of the National Materials Advisory Board. He received the Distinguished Service to Powder Metallurgy Award of the Metal Powder Industries Federation (1991), the Jenkins Award of the Institute of Materials (1996), the ASM Gold Medal (1996), and the TMS Educator Award (2002). He is editor in chief of the International Journal of Powder Metallurgy.

Steven E. Pfeiffer, a professor of microbiology at the University of Connecticut Health Center, has interests in molecular, cell, and developmental biology of the nervous system and myelinogenesis. A recipient of the Javitz Neuroscience Investigator Award from the National Institutes of Health, he is a member of the American Association of Cell Biologists; the American Society for Neurochemistry; the International Society for Developmental Neuroscience, of which he is past president; and the Society for Neuroscience. Dr. Pfeiffer is a member of the NRC Committee on Space Biology and Medicine.

Richard Setlow, NAS, is a senior biophysicist in the Biology Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory. Dr. Setlow’s research interests include studies in far-ultraviolet spectroscopy, molecular biophysics, and environmental carcinogenesis. He received the Finsen Medal in 1980 for "outstanding contributions to photobiology and repair of nucleic acids" and the Enrico Fermi Award in 1989 from the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement