writing reviews of the research on science teacher education, he has engaged in several experimental projects to foster new approaches to science teacher education at the University of Colorado. Anderson has a B.S. in physics and a Ph.D. in education from the University of Wisconsin. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, as well as a former chair of its education section. Other former offices include president of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching and president of the Association for the Education of Teachers of Science. He served as a program officer at the National Science Foundation and currently is a member of the Advisory Board for the Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education.

Rolf Blank is director of education indicators at the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). He has been a senior staff member at CCSSO for 16 years. He is responsible for developing, managing, and reporting a system of state-by-state and national indicators of the condition and quality of education in K-12 public schools. Blank is currently directing a three-year experimental design study on Improving Effectiveness of Instruction in Mathematics and Science with Data on Enacted Curriculum, which is supported by a grant from the National Science Foundation. He recently completed a three-year project in collaboration with the Wisconsin Center for Education Research to develop, demonstrate, and test a set of survey and reporting tools for analyzing instructional content and pedagogy in science and math. At CCSSO, Blank collaborates with state education leaders, researchers, and professional organizations in directing program evaluation studies and technical assistance projects aimed toward improving the quality of K-12 public education. He holds a Ph.D. in sociology and education from Florida State University and an M.A. in education policy studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Enriqueta Bond is president of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund and a member of the NRC Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy (COSEPUP), with expertise in public policy and private foundations. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine and has extensive experience serving on committees for the National Research Council. Bond received her undergraduate degree in zoology and physiology from Wellesley College, master’s degree in biology and genetics from the University of Virginia, and Ph.D. in molecular biology and biochemical genetics from Georgetown University. She is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Society for Microbiology, and American Public Health Association. She serves on the Council of the Institute of Medicine and chairs the IOM Clinical Research Roundtable, the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Center for Infectious Diseases at the Centers for Disease Control, and the Board of the North Carolina Biotechnology Center. Bond was executive officer of the Institute of Medicine from 1989 to 1994. She became president of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund in July 1994.

James J. Gallagher is a professor of science education at Michigan State University. His interests include education of prospective and practicing teachers of science at the middle-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement