Committee Members

Rodney C.Ewing is a professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences with joint appointments in the Departments of Geological Sciences and Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Michigan. Prior to arriving at Michigan, Dr. Ewing was Regents’ Professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at the University of New Mexico for 23 years. His professional interests are in mineralogy and materials science, and his research has focused on radiation effects in complex ceramic materials and the long-term durability of radioactive waste forms. He is president of the Mineralogical Society of America. Dr. Ewing received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in geology from Stanford University.

B.John Garrick is president of Garrick Consulting and was a co-founder of PLG, Inc., an international engineering, applied science, and management consulting firm formerly in Newport Beach, California. He retired as president and chief executive officer in 1997. His professional interests involve risk assessment in fields such as nuclear energy, space and defense, chemicals and petroleum, and transportation. He is a past president of the Society for Risk Analysis. Dr. Garrick is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste. Dr. Garrick received his B.S. degree in physics from Brigham Young University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in engineering and applied science from the University of California, Los Angeles, and is a graduate of the Oak Ridge School of Reactor Technology.

Darleane C.Hoffman is professor of the graduate school in chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, and charter director and senior advisor of the Glenn T. Seaborg Institute for Transactinium Science at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. She is currently co-leader of the Heavy Element Nuclear & Radiochemistry Group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, where she is a faculty senior scientist. Dr. Hoffman’s research is in the field of atom-at-a-time studies of the nuclear and chemical properties of the transfermium elements, spontaneous fission properties, and studies of radionuclide migration in the environment. Dr. Hoffman was awarded the U.S. National Medal of Sci-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement