Click for next page ( 50

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 49
E* ES C. Sidney Burrus received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in ig65, after which he joined the faculty at Rice University, where he is now the Maxfield and Oshman Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and dean of the George R. Brown School of Engineering. From ig84 to igg2, he was chairman of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Rice, and from igg2 to iggS, he was director of the Computer and Information Technology Institute (CTTT). In ig75 5- ig76 and again in ig7g g-igBo, he was a guest professor at the Universitaaet ErIangen-Nuernberg, Germany; during the academic year Agog g-iggo, he was a visiting professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Burrus received teaching awards at Rice in ig6g,ig74,ig75,ig76,igBo, and icing, an TEEE S-ASSP Senior Award in ig74, a Senior Alexander von Humboldt Award in ig75' and a Senior Fulbright Fellowship in ig7g. He was elected a fellow of the TEEE in ig8i and a recipient of the TEEE S-ASSP Technical Achievement Award in ig86. From agog to igg2, he was a distinguished lecturer for the Signal Processing Society and for the Circuits and Systems Society. He was awarded the TEEE S-SP Society Award in igg4 and the Millennium Medal in Boom Dr. Burrus served on the TEEE Signal Processing Society ADCOM(spell out) Advisory Committee for three years and has coauthored five books on digital signal processing. Donald Falkenburg, the director of the Greenfield Coalition for New Manufacturing Education, was previously professor and chair of the Department of Industrial and Mechanical Engineering at Wayne State University in Detroit. Members of the Greenfield Coalition include Focus: HOPE, six universities, several companies, and an engineering society, all of which have representatives on the coalition's Board of Directors and other boards. The coalition has its own educational campus, which includes an advanced manufacturing facility, located in the community it serves. The program and facility combine theory and application so that students called candidates learn engineering fundamentals while they work under contract to major manufacturing companies to design and build products. Dr. Falkenburg earned his B.S. and M.S. in mechanical engineering from CIarkson University and his Ph.D. in systems engineering from Case Western Reserve University. He joined the faculty of the College of Engineering at Wayne State University in agog and became director of the Greenfield Coalition in ~ggg. Michael Kolhase received his Ph.D. from the Universitaat des SaarIandes in Germany in eggs, after which he received a Dissertation Prize of the Working Group of German Artificial Intelligence Institutes. Since 2000, he has been a visiting researcher at the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University, funded by a five-year Heisenberg stipend from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). Dr. Kolhase, on leave from his position as associate professor in the Department of Computer Science, Universitat des SaarIandes University, is a principle investigator for the CCAPS Group, which is designing and implementing a system to store, organize, index, and make searchable, course content and preserve 49

OCR for page 49
JO IT-Based Educational Materials: Workshop Report that content reliably over long periods of time. Dr. Kolhase's research interests include higher order unification and theorem proving, logics and calculi for partial functions, deduction systems, and natural language semantics. M.S. V'jay Komar, assistant provost and director of academic computing at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MTT), has greatly influenced MTT's strategic focus on educational technology and promoted the effective integration of information technology into MTT education. As director of the Information Systems Academic Computing Practice and a member of its leadership team, Dr. Kumar provides leadership and coordination for academic computing activities and services that support the use of information technology in MTT's educational programs. He also leads MTT's Academic Media Production Services (AMPS), which brings together MTT Video Productions, Streaming Media Services, and the Educational Media Creation Center in support of MTT initiatives, such as SMA (the Singapore MTT Alliance), CMT (the Cambridge MTT Institute) and OCW (Open Courseware). Among his many other activities, Dr. Kumar is the principal investigator of the Open Knowledge Initiative (OKT), a collaborative effort supported by the Andrew J. Mellon Foundation to develop an open-source, open architecture for internet-based educational applications. He received his Ed. D. from University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and his M.S. in industrial management and B. Tech. in chemical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India.