Click for next page ( 136

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 135
APPENDIX A Sources of Information Provided to the Committee ORGANIZATIONS Alliance for Aging Research American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology American Academy of Head and Neck Surgery American Academy of Ophthalmology American Academy of Optometry American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons American Association for Dental Research American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association, Inc. American College of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology American Dental Association American Dental Education Association American Diabetes Association American Heart Association American Obesity Association American Optometric Association Arthritis Foundation Association of American Medical Colleges Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology Association of Schools of Public Health Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology College on Problems of Drug Dependence, Inc. Epilepsy Foundation 135

OCR for page 135
136 Enhancing the Vitality of the National Institutes of Health Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology Friends of the NIDCR Institute of Ophthalmology and Visual Science, New Jersey Medical School International Longevity Center National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research National Foundation for Ectodermal Dysplasias National Mental Health Association Ohio State University Health Sciences Center Research Society on Alcoholism Sjogren's Syndrome Foundation Society for Women's Health Research The Ohio State University College of Optometry The Smith Kettlewell Eye Research Institute Vision Share INDIVIDUALS Sarah Caddick, Steven and Michele Kirsch Foundation Robert Core and James O'Rourke, University of Connecticut Health Center William Crowley, Academic Health Centers' Clinical Research Forum Cedric Garland, University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine Morton Goldberg, The Wilmer Ophthalmological Institute Frederick Goodwin, former director, NIMH and ADAMHA Sandra Hanneman, Texas Medical Center Bernadine Healy, former director, NIH Stephen Lippard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Department of Chemistry John Porter, former US Representative Bob Roehr, Council of Public Representatives at NIH Louis Sullivan, Morehouse School of Medicine Thomas W. Stone, Retina and Vitreous Associates of Kentucky Harold Varmus, former director, NIH Max Harry Weil, USC School of Medicine and Northwestern University Medical School Robert D. Wells, Texas Medical Center DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Robert Wood, Chief of Staff Laura Law~or, Deputy Chief of Staff NIH Officials Office of the Director, NIH Elias Zerhouni, Director, NIH

OCR for page 135
Appendix A Wendy Baldwin, Deputy Director for Extramural Research John Burklow, Office of Communications and Public Liaison Stephen Ficca, Associate Director for Research Services John Gallin, Director, Clinical Research Center Michael Gottesman, Deputy Director for Intramural Research Robin Kawazoe, Director, Office of Science Policy and Planning Raynard Kington, Director, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research Ruth Kirschstein, Deputy Director Charles Leasure, Deputy Director for Management Donald Poppke, Acting Associate Director for Budget Belinda Seto, Acting Deputy Director for Extramural Research Director Lana Skirboll, Director, Office of Science Policy NIH Officials Institute and Center Directors Ellie Ehrenfeld, Director, Center for Scientific Review Andrew von Eschenbach, National Cancer Institute Paul A. Sieving, Director; Jack A. McLaughlin, Deputy Director; and Michael P. Davis, Associate Director for Science Policy and Legislation, National Eye Institute Claude Lenfant, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Francis Collins, National Human Genome Research Institute Raynard Kington, Acting Director, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism Anthony Fauci, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease Richard Hodes, National Institute on Aging Steve Katz, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases Duane Alexander, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development James Battey, National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Allen Spiegel, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Glen Hanson, National Institute on Drug Abuse Ken Olden, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences Richard Nakamura, Acting Director, National Institute of Mental Health Audrey Penn, Acting Director; Eugene Major, Acting Deputy Director; and Constance Atwell, Director, Division of Extramural Research, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke Patricia Grady, National Institute of Nursing Research OTHER GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS Anthony }. Tether, Director, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Michael Goldblatt, Director, Defense Sciences Office, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency 137

OCR for page 135