possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. We wish to thank the following individuals for their review of this report: David Gaylor of Gaylor & Associates and Nancy Kerkvliet of Oregon State University.

Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions or recommendations nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release. The review of this report was overseen by: Judith A.Graham of the American Chemistry Council. Appointed by the National Research Council, she was responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.

The subcommittee gratefully acknowledges the valuable assistance provided by the following persons: Ernest Falke and Paul Tobin (both from EPA); Cheryl Bast, Po Yung Lu, Sylvia Milanez, Sylvia Talmage, Claudia Troxel, Annetta Watson, and Robert Young (all from Oak Ridge National Laboratory). Aida Neel was the project assistant and Kelly Clark was the editor. We are grateful to James J.Reisa, director of the Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology, for his helpful guidance. The subcommittee particularly acknowledges Kulbir Bakshi, project director for the subcommittee, for bringing the report to completion. Finally, we would like to thank all members of the subcommittee for their expertise and dedicated effort throughout the development of this report.

Daniel Krewski, Chair

Subcommittee on Acute Exposure

Guideline Levels

Bailus Walker, Chair

Committee on Toxicology

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement