Click for next page ( 95

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 94
B Biographies of the Organizing Committee Members Allen ,1. Bard (NAS) (Co-chair) holds the Hackerman-Welch Regent Chair in Chemistry at the University of Texas, Austin. He received his B.S. from City College in 1955 and his M.A. and Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1958. His research focuses on electroanalytical and physical chemistry. Dr. Bard has been co-chair of the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology and associate editor and editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American Chemical Society. He has received over 20 major awards and named lectureships and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Ameri- can Chemical Society, and American Association for the Advancement of Sci- ence, and is a fellow of the Electrochemistry Society. Michael P. Ramage (NAE) is retired Executive Vice President, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company. Previously he was Executive Vice Presi- dent and Chief Technology Officer, Mobil Oil Corporation. Dr. Ramage held a number of positions at Mobil including Research Associate, Manager of Process Research and Development, General Manager of Exploration and Producing Research, Vice President of Engineering, and President of Mobil Technology Company. He has broad experience in many aspects of the petroleum and chemi- cal industries. He serves on a number of university visiting committees and is a member of the Government University Industrial Research Roundtable. He is a Director of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and a member of several other professional organizations. Dr. Ramage is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and serves on the NAE Council. He has a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Purdue University. 94

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX B 95 Joseph G. Gordon II is manager of Material Sciences and Analysis at IBM's Almaden Research Center. He received his A.B. from Harvard College (1966) and his Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- nology (1970~. His research involves interracial electrochemistry, inorganic chemistry, and analytical chemistry. He has been a member of the Board of Chemical Sciences and Technology and is a member of the American Chemical Society, Royal Chemical Society, National Organization of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Electrochemical Society, and the American Physical Society. Arthur ,1. Nozik is a senior research fellow with the Basic Science Division of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL). He received his B.S.Ch. from Cornell University in 1959 and his M.S. in 1962 and his Ph.D. in 1967 in physical chemistry from Yale University. Since receiving his Ph.D., Dr. Nozik has worked at NRL, where he has conducted research in nanoscience, photo- electrochemistry, photocatalysis, and hydrogen energy systems. He has served on numerous scientific review panels and received several awards in solar energy research. He is a senior editor of the Journal of Physical Chemistry, a fellow of the American Physical Society, and a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Materials Research Society, the Society of Photo Optical Instrument Engineers, and the Electrochemical Society. Richard R. Schrock (NAS) is Frederick G. Keyes Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He obtained his B.A. in 1967 from the University of California at Riverside and his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1971. In his research he first discovered and then focused on the preparation and properties of high-oxidation-state carbenes (alkylidine complexes). He also con- ducts research on the kinetics and mechanics of high-oxidation-state early-metal organometallic species and polymer synthesis and characterization as well as the synthesis of polymers containing organic or inorganic semiconductors or metal clusters. Dr. Schrock has been associate editor of Organometallics, has received several major awards, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. Ellen B. Stechel is on temporary assignment from her position as manager of the Chemistry and Environmental Sciences Department of the Ford Motor Company She received her A.B. in mathematics and chemistry from Oberlin College (1974) and her M.S. in physical chemistry (1976) and Ph.D. in chemical physics (1978) from the University of Chicago. She joined Sandia National Laboratories in 1991, where she became manager of the Advanced Materials and Device Sciences Department in 1994. Her scientific interests are in computational, surface, and materials sciences. Dr. Stechel serves as a senior editor for the Journal of Physical

OCR for page 94
96 APPENDIX B Chemistry and on other editorial advisory boards. She has held numerous profes- sional society positions with the American Vacuum Society, American Physical Society, American Chemical Society, and others. She also serves on U.S. Depart- ment of Energy committees.