joined the Department of Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics at Wisconsin in 1989. At the present time, he heads the Pegasus Toroidal Experiment and directs collaborative experiments on the DIII-D National Fusion Facility. Professor Fonck is a fellow of the American Physical Society and served as president of the University Fusion Association for the 1999-2000 term. He is a member of several program advisory committees for large fusion science experiments, and served on the DOE Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee subpanel for U.S. participation in ITER. He also served as a member on the NRC’s Fusion Science Assessment Committee. Currently, he is chair of the Organizing Committee for the American Physical Society’s (APS’s) Topical Conference on High-Temperature Plasma Diagnostics. His research is in experimental studies of high-beta plasmas in toroidal geometries, plasma turbulence, and high-temperature plasma diagnostic development. He was awarded the 1999 APS Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research for his work on measurements of turbulence in high-temperature plasmas. Professor Fonck is a principal investigator on grants from the Office of Fusion Energy Sciences of the Department of Energy.

JOHN N. BAHCALL is a professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. He graduated from Harvard University with a Ph.D. in physics in 1961. He then had the following appointments: at Indiana University, he was a research fellow in physics (1960-1962); at the California Institute of Technology, he served as a research fellow, assistant professor, and associate professor of physics (1962-1970); at the Institute for Advanced Study, he has been a member (1968-1969 [term II], 1969-1970), professor of natural sciences (1971-1997), and Richard Black Professor of Natural Sciences (1997 to the present). In addition, Dr. Bahcall has held the following positions: at-large member, interdisciplinary scientist, Hubble Telescope Working Group (1973-1992); councilor, president, American Astronomical Society (1978-1981, 1990-1992, respectively); chair, National Academy of Sciences, Section on Astronomy (1980-1983); chair, NRC, Astronomy and Astrophysics Survey Committee (1989-1991); chair, NRC Panel on Neutrino Astrophysics (1994-1995); chair, U.S. National Committee of the International Astronomical Union (1996-1998); chair, National Underground Science Laboratory Committee (2001). Among the awards and honors that Dr. Bahcall has received are the Warner Prize, American Astronomical Society (1970); Sloan Foundation Fellow (1968-1971); membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; James Arthur Prize Lecturer, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (May 1988); NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal (1992); National Medal of Science (1998); and in 2003, the Russell Prize of the American Astronomical Society, the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics, the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, and the Dan David Prize. Dr. Bahcall’s research interests include astro-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement