Click for next page ( 27

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 26
Appendix B Committee Biographies Steven R. Tannenbaum, Chair, is a professor of toxi- cology and chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He received his bachelor's degree and Ph.D. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- nology. His research interests are in toxicology and chemical carcinogenesis. His laboratory addresses questions that relate to the role of both environmental and endogenous factors on human health. Dr. Tannen- baum is a member of the Institute of Medicine. William Bahnfleth is a professor of architectural engineering at Pennsylvania State University and director of its indoor environment program. He received his bachelor's, master's, and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research concerns thermal storage, district heating and cooling, indoor air quality, building energy modeling and analysis, and applica- tion of thermal sciences to buildings. R. John Collier is a professor of microbiology and molecular genetics at Harvard University. His research is currently focusing on diphtheria and anthrax toxins, applying genetic, biochemical, and biophysical methods to generate detailed models of each step in toxin action. He received the Eli Lilly Award in Micro- biology and Immunology in 1972, the Paul Ehrlich Prize in 1990, and the Selman Waksman Award in 26 1999. Dr. Collier is a member of the National Acad- emy of Sciences. David A. Edwards is a professor of biomedical engi- neering at Harvard University. He obtained his Ph.D. in chemical engineering in 1987 and has since taught and performed research at the Technion (Israel), MIT, Penn State, and Harvard. His research is in aerosol drug delivery systems. He is the coauthor of two textbooks on advanced transport analysis and numerous scien- tific papers. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering. Leon R. Glicksman is a professor of mechanical engi- neering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He received his bachelor' s and Ph.D. degrees in engi- neering from MIT and a master's degree from Stanford University. His research interests are fluidized beds, heat transfer, energy efficient buildings, sustainable buildings, air circulation in buildings, and sustainable buildings for developing countries. Lynne Haber is the manager of the research program at Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment in Cincinnati, Ohio. She received her Ph.D. from MIT. She has developed more than 20 noncancer and cancer risk assessments for EPA's Integrated Risk Informa- tion System (IRIS), and for other government agen-

OCR for page 26
APPENDIX B cies. Dr. Haber' s current interest is in the use of mecha- nistic data in risk assessment and methods for extend- ing dose-response curves to low doses. She has also done risk assessments using benchmark modeling and categorical regression, and published papers on the use of those approaches in risk assessment. Dr. Haber is also a member of the NRC panel on low-level expo- sures to chemical warfare agents. Sangtae Kim is the vice-president and information officer of Lilly Research Laboratories, a division of Eli Lilly and Company. The departments reporting to Dr. Kim are responsible for the many facets of infor- mation technology in pharmaceutical R&D, including information technologies that drive discovery research, preclinical development, clinical research, regulatory affairs, and product teams. He joined Lilly in 2000 from a similar position at Parke-Davis Pharmaceutical Research, a division of Warner-Lambert Company. From 1983 to 1997 Dr. Kim was a faculty member in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, including a term as department chair. His research interests include fluid mechanics, rheology, suspensions, protein dynamics, applied mathematics, and parallel computing. Dr. Kim is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a past member of the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology. Charles E. Kolb is the president of Aerodyne Research, Inc. His research interests include the chem- istry and physics of trace atmospheric species and the chemical kinetics and spectroscopy of combustion. Dr. Kolb has served on a variety of NRC committees, some of which deal directly with chemical and biologi- cal agents. Ellen Raber is the department head for environmental protection at the Lawrence Livermore National Labo- ratory. In this role she is responsible for both opera- tional and applied R&D efforts in pollution prevention, 27 waste management, environmental restoration and en- vironmental monitoring and analysis. Her research area has been in applied geochemistry, and she has authored numerous publications in this area. She has been ac- tively involved in environmental applications for inter- national CBW treaty verification and nuclear safe- guards to include chemical and biological warfare agent detection and decontamination and related envi- ronmental issues. William S. Rees, ,lr., is a professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He received his bachelor's degree from Texas Tech University and his Ph.D. from the University of California at Los Angeles. Professor Rees's research interests are in the synthesis and characterization of inorganic and organometallic compounds for use in the preparation of electronic materials. He has served on a number of committees dealing with issues of national defense. Richard G. Sextro is a physicist in the Indoor Envi- ronmental Program at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He received his bachelor's degree from Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie Mellon University) and his Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Sextro has been actively involved in research concerning biological and chemi- cal warfare agents in indoor environments. He has recently completed a modeling study on indoor disper- sion patterns of anthrax spores. Kent J. Voorhees is a professor of chemistry and geochemistry at the Colorado School of Mines. His research has a strong analytical chemistry component. In addition to polymer studies he has developed research programs in mass spectrometry, pyrolysis- mass spectrometry, supercritical fluid chromatography, chemometrics, and artificial intelligence. He also designed the biodetection sensors for biological war- fare agents in use at the Pentagon.

OCR for page 26