Click for next page ( 39

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 38
B Biographies of the Organizing Committee Members Douglas A. Lauffenburger (Co-chair) is a professor of biological engineering, chemical engineering, and biology, co-director of the Biological Engineering Di- vision, and director of the biotechnology process engineering center at the Mas- sachusetts Institute of Technology. He received a B.S. from the University of Illinois and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Minnesota. His research combines molecular cell biology with engineering approaches to improve design of cell-based technologies and molecular therapeutics. Dr. Lauffenburger's awards include the A. P. Colburn, W. H. Walker, and Food Phar- maceutical and Bioengineering Division awards from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers; the C. W. McGraw award from the American Society for Engineering Education; and the Amgen Award in Biochemical Engineering from the Engineering Foundation. He is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, past president of the Bio- medical Engineering Society, and a member of the NIH General Medical Sci- ences Advisory Council. Christopher T. Walsh (Co-chair) is currently the Hamilton Kuhn Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School. His research efforts have been directed to enzymatic catalysis, including analysis of the chemical basis of molecular transformations and the study of enzyme in- hibitors. This has led to study of the mechanism of agents in various areas of molecular pharmacology, including immunosuppressive agents and antibacterial drugs. Dr. Walsh earned his A.B. from Harvard University and his Ph.D. from Rockefeller University. Dr. Walsh is a member of both the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. He spent the first part of his career in the 38

OCR for page 38
APPENDIX B 39 chemistry department at MIT. He sits on the board of directors and advisory board of many corporations and has won such awards as the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship (1975), Eli Lilly Award in Biochemistry (1979), the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award of the American Chemical Society, and the ACS's Repligen Award. Dr. Walsh has also been on the Editorial Board of the Journal of the American Chemical Society and is a member of the NIH General Medical Sciences Advisory Council. Paul S. Anderson is the vice-president for drug discovery at Bristol-Myers Squibb Company. He previously held comparable positions at DuPont Pharma- ceutical Company and DuPont-Merck Pharmaceutical Company. Before joining DuPont-Merck he was the vice-president for chemistry at Merck Sharp & Dohme Research Laboratories, where he served in various roles from senior research chemist through executive director of the medicinal chemistry department. Dr. Anderson received a B.S. from University of Vermont and a Ph.D. in chemistry from University of New Hampshire. He performed postgraduate studies as a Na- tional Institutes of Health postdoctoral fellow in chemistry at Cornell University. He is a foyer president of the American Chemical Society. Ellen Leahy is a senior scientist in medicinal chemistry at Celera in South San Francisco, California. She earned both her B.S. and Ph.D. from the University of South Florida and was a postdoctoral scholar at the University of Pennsylvania in the laboratory of Ralph Hirschmann. Dr. Leahy has worked in the San Francisco Bay area biotechnology industry focusing on combinatorial chemistry as well as traditional medicinal chemistry programs. During the course of her career she has held positions at Affymax and Versicor and then at Axys Pharmaceuticals, which became part of Celera in 2001. She recently received the Outstanding Chemistry Alumni Award at the University of South Florida. Michael A. Marletta is currently a professor of chemistry and biochemistry and molecular biology at the University of California, Berkeley, and a professor of cellular and molecular pharmacology at the University of California, San Fran- cisco. He was previously on the faculty at the University of Michigan and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His research focuses on the interface of chemistry and biology, probing biological catalysis and other protein structure and function questions. Novel functions and mechanisms are explored for appli- cation of those properties to drug design. Dr. Marietta has a number of awards that include a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, the State of Michigan Scientist of the Year, and the Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award from the Univer- sity of Michigan. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He earned his A.B. at State University College in Fredonia, New York, and his Ph.D. at the University of California, San . _ . . ~ranclsco.

OCR for page 38
40 APPENDIX B C. Dale Poulter is the John A. Widtsoe Distinguished Professor in the Depart- ment of Chemistry at the University of Utah. He earned his B.S. from Louisiana State University and his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley. He was a National Institutes of Health postdoctoral fellow with Saul Winstein at the University of California, Los Angeles. Dr. Poulter's research combines synthetic and mechanistic organic chemistry with biochemistry and molecular biology to study the chemistry of enzyme catalysis. This work has focused on enzymes in the isoprenoid biosynthetic pathway, including those in sterol biosynthesis and protein prenylation. He has been awarded an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, the American Chemical Society Ernest Guenther Award, an ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, and the ACS Repligen Award. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Poulter has served on a number of ACS committees and editorial advisory boards and is the editor in chief of the Journal of Organic Chemistry. Dagmar Ringe is a professor of biochemistry and chemistry at Brandeis Univer- sity. Her research group studies the relationship of protein three-dimensional structure to chemical function, using a combination of design of transition-state analog inhibitors, site-directed mutagenesis, genetics, and X-ray crystallography. Dr. Ringe received her Ph.D. from Boston University.