• the elimination of discrimination in respect of employment and occupation.

In addition, in accordance with the U.S. trade law, information is provided on a fifth standard:

  • acceptable conditions of work with respect to minimum wages, hours of work, and occupational safety and health.


For each of these standards, the committee organized its indicators into three domains: (1) legal framework, (2) government performance, and (3) overall outcomes. A fourth domain (4) covers relevant, associated factors. Within these four domains, indicators are grouped in terms of the five primary categories:

  • freedom of association and collective bargaining,

  • forced labor,

  • child labor,

  • discrimination and equality, and

  • acceptable conditions of work.

In addition, a sixth category concerns measures of human capital.

To a large extent, the committee sought to create a list of indicators that should be included, regardless of whether information on them is currently being collected. WebMILS will contain data on these indicators, which are relevant to an assessment of compliance or noncompliance with each of the five labor standards.

Many indicators are operational and data or information is currently being collected; such indicators are included in the database. For several indicators, the indicators are operational, but no data or information is currently collected; these indicators are presented with the hope that data will be available in the future. Users may notice that the same indicator appears for multiple standards. The committee’s view is that a country’s compliance should be judged against each standard and that some indicators are relevant for more than one standard.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement