Click for next page ( 52

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 51
. ~ Cur ricul a Vitae of Committee Member s , HOMER W. CARHART received B.S., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees in chemistry at Dakota Wesleyan University, University of South Dakota, and the University of Maryland, re spectively . After teaching chemistry at Gallaudet College, he joined the Naval Research Laboratory where he is, ate present, head of the Chemica 1 Dynamic s Branch. FREDERICK R. EIRICH was educated at the University of Vienna receiving M.A., D. Sc., and Ph.D. degrees in physical chemistry . During his academic career he was employed at the University of Vienna, Cambridge University, the University of Melbourne, Bristol University, and the Polytechnic Institute of New York. He is presently distinguished professor of polymer chemistry at the latter institution. LELAND J. HALL obtained a B.S. in electrical engineering at Illinois test' Cute or ~ecnno ~ ogy . He was chairman of the National Fire Protection Association' s (NFPA) Code Making Panel 14-Electrical Code and a member of other NFPA panel s. Before retiring he was manager of the Engineering Department of Mill Mutual Fire Protection Bureau. ERNEST G. MAGISON received a B. S . in electrical engineering at Tufts University. He has been active in standards writing activities of the Instrument Society of America, National Fire Protection Association, International Electrotechnical Commission, particularly those relevant to preventing ignition by electrical equipment. Mr. Magison is a senior engineering fellow and manager, Regulatory Af fairs, Honeywell Process Control Division and an adjunct professor at Drexel University. J. ARTHUR NICHOLLS graduated from Wayne State University with a B.S. and f ram the University of Michigan with an M. S . and Ph.D . in aeronautical engineering. He is a professor of aerospace engineering at the University of Michigan with research activities in gas dynamics, heterogeneous and homogeneous combustion, and engine generated pollutants. PEPER J. SCHRAM has a B. S . in electrical engineering f rom the University of Wisconsin. He has served on National Fire Protection Association and Instn~rnent Society of America panel s . His industrial employment comprise s over 20 years of experience at Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. and his present position as chief electrical engineer at the National Fire Protection As sociation. ROGER A . STREHLOW received a B . S . degree and a Ph. D . in chemistry f rom the University of Wi sconsin. He was employed at Aberdeen Proving Ground before becoming a professor of aeronautical and astronautical engineering at the University of Illinoi s. His research interests are in reactive gas dynamics and combustion. Dr. Strehl ow i s the chairman of the National Research Council's Panel on Causes and Prevention of Grain Elevator Explosions. 51

OCR for page 51