Click for next page ( 95


The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 94
C Symposium Participants Laura Abate Mohammad Al-Ubaydli Himmelfarb Library, The George National Center for Washington University Biotechnology Information leabate@gwu.edu (NCBI) mo@mo.md Hal Abelson Massachusetts Institute of Carl Anderson Technology Drexel University Libraries hal@mit.edu ca25@drexel.edu Karen Albert Kent Anderson Talbot Research Library, Fox New England Journal of Medicine Chase Cancer Center kanderson@nejm.org km_albert@fccc.edu Tom Arrison Bruce Alberts The National Academies National Academy of Sciences tarrison@nas.edu balberts@nas.edu Susan Ashworth Kerri Allen Glasgow University Association of Research Libraries s.ashworth@lib.gla.ac.uk kerri@arl.org 94

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 95 Daniel Atkins Sandra Berlin University of Michigan American Anthropological atkins@umich.edu Association sberlin@aaanet.org John Aubry American Museum of Natural R. Steven Berry History Library The University of Chicago jaubry@amnh.org berry@uchicago.edu Midori Baer-Price Iona Black INFORMS, The Institute for Yale University, Dept. of Operations Research and the Chemistry Management Sciences iona.black@yale.edu midori.baer-price@informs.org Floyd Bloom Marcus Banks The Scripps Research Institute National Library of Medicine fbloom@scripps.edu BanksM@mail.nlm.nih.gov Ronald Bluestone Lori Barber Library of Congress ScholarOne rblu@loc.gov lori.barber@scholarone.com Martin Blume Edward Barnas The American Physical Society Cambridge University Press blume@aps.org ebarnas@cup.org Robert Bovenschulte Svetla Baykoucheva American Chemical Society American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications s_baykouchev@acs.org rbovenschulte@acs.org Malcolm Beasley Monica Bradford Stanford University American Association for the beasley@stanford.edu Advancement of Science (AAAS) Philippa Benson mbradfor@aaas.org CABS, Conservation International p.benson@conservation.org

OCR for page 94
96 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Kerry Brenner Guy Chalk The National Academies, BLS Johns Hopkins University Center kbrenner@nas.edu for Communication Programs gchalk@jhuccp.org Sarah Brookhart American Psychological Society Leslie Chan sbrookhart@psychologicalscience.org University of Toronto at Scarborough Patrick Brown chan@utsc.utoronto.ca Stanford University pbrown@cmgm.stanford.edu Nina Chang Elsevier David Bruggeman n.chang@elsevier.com The National Academies dbruggem@nas.edu Bonnie Chojnacki University of Maryland Edward Campion bc128@umail.umd.edu New England Journal of Medicine ecampion@nejm.org Pamela Clapp Hinkle Marine Biological Laboratory Gene Carbona pclapp@mbl.edu The Medical Letter gene@medicalletter.org Jeff Clark James Madison University Bonnie Carroll clarkjc@jmu.edu CENDI bcarroll@infointl.com William Cohen The Biological Bulletin, Hunter Mary Case College Association of Research Librarians cohen@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu marycase@arl.org Eileen Collins Meredith Cawley S&T Studies AIAA el.collins@verizon.net meredithc@aiaa.org Jim Comes Univ. of Massachusetts Medical School james.comes@umassmed.edu

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 97 Joan Comstock Lloyd Davidson Cadmus Northwestern University, Mudd comstockj@cadmus.com Library for Science & Engineering Bridget Coughlin Ldavids@northwestern.edu The National Academies bcoughli@nas.edu Adrienne Davis The National Academies C. Arleen Courtney adavis@nas.edu American Chemical Society a_courtney@acs.org Bart De Castro Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Denise Covey bdecastro@csa.com Carnegie Mellon, Hunt Library troll@andrew.cmu.edu Laura Dean National Center for Nicholas Cozzarelli Biotechnology Information University of California, Berkeley laura@idiopathic.com ncozzare@socrates.Berkeley.edu Stephanie Dean Brian Crawford American Society for Cell Biology John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (ASCB) bcrawfor@wiley.com sdean@ascb.org Vicki Croft Masako Dickinson Washington State University American Chemical Society croft@wsu.edu med96@acs.org Raym Crow Heather Dittbrenner Chain Bridge Group Independent Consultant crow@chainbridgegroup.com hdittbrenner@comcast.net Bruce Dancik Lisa Dittrich NRC Research Press c/o Association of American Medical Renewable Resources Colleges bruce.dancik@ualberta.ca lrdittrich@aamc.org

OCR for page 94
98 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Richard Dodenhoff Joseph Esposito American Society for SRI Consulting Pharmacology and jesposito@sric.sri.com Experimental Therapeutics rdodenhoff@aspet.org Walter Finch National Technical Information Daniel Dollar Service Yale University, Cushing/Whitney wfinch@ntis.gov Medical Library daniel.dollar@yale.edu Henry Flores Copyright Clearance Center, Inc. Mark Doyle hflores@copyright.com The American Physical Society doyle@aps.org Martin Frank American Physiological Society Guy Dresser mfrank@the-aps.org Allen Press, Inc. gdresser@allenpress.com Mark Frankel AAAS Michael Droettboom mfrankel@aaas.org Johns Hopkins University mdboom@jhu.edu Tracie Frederick Georgetown University Medical James Duderstadt Center University of Michigan tef7@georgetown.edu jjd@umich.edu Theodore Freeman Carol Edwards Allen Press, Inc. American Statistical Association tfreeman@allenpress.com caroled@amstat.org Amy Friedlander Anita Eisenstadt Council on Library and National Science Foundation Information Resources aeisenst@nsf.gov amfr@loc.gov Julie Esanu Fred Friend The National Academies, BISO Joint Information Systems jesanu@nas.edu Committee f.friend@ucl.ac.uk

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 99 Sherrilynne Fuller Albert Greco University of Washington Fordham University sfuller@u.washington.edu angreco@aol.com Ken Fulton Michael Greenberg The National Academies The Whitney Laboratory kfulton@nas.edu mjgberg@aug.com John Gardenier Suzanne Grefsheim Independent Consultant NIH Libarary drgarden@erols.com sg8d@nih.gov Lorrin Garson Jane Griffith American Chemical Society National Library of Medicine lgarson@acs.org jbgriffith@nlm.nih.gov Julia Gelfand Anne Gwynn University of California, Irvine Library of Congress, Libraries Congressional Research jgelfand@uci.edu Services agwynn@crs.loc.gov Jane Ginsburg Columbia University School of Melissa Hagemann Law Open Society Institute ginsburg@law.columbia.edu mhagemann@sorosny.org Carter Glass Joel Hammond American Geophysical Union BIOSIS cglass@agu.org jkhammond@biosis.org Erica Goldstein Charles Hancock American Society for Nutritional American Society for Sciences Biochemistry and Molecular goldsteine@asns.org Biology (ASBMB) chancock@asbmb.faseb.org Barbara Gordon American Society for Holly Harden Biochemistry & Molecular Welch Medical Library, Johns Biology Hopkins Medical Institutions bgordon@asbmb.faseb.org hharden@mail.jhmi.edu

OCR for page 94
100 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Elizabeth Have Beth Jacoby BIOSIS University of Maryland, btenhave@biosis.org Baltimore, Health Science Library Michael Held bjacoby@hshsl.umaryland.edu The Rockefeller University Press held@rockefeller.edu Brent Jacocks American Speech-Language Stephen Heller Hearing Association (ASHA) National Institute of Standards journals@asha.org and Technology (NIST) srheller@nist.gov Michael Jensen National Academies Press Robert Hershey mjensen@nas.edu Medical Doctor hershey@cpcug.org Michael Jensen Harvard University Derek Hill michael_jensen@ssrn.com National Science Foundation dhill@nsf.gov Nels Jensen Blackwell Publishing Carol Hunter Nels.jensen@usa.blackwellpublishing.com University of Virginia chunter@virginia.edu Rick Johnson SPARC Alvin Hutchinson rick@arl.org Smithsonian Institution Libraries, National Zoological Park Heather Joseph Library BioOne hutchinsona@si.edu heather@arl.org John Inglis Lisa Junker Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory American Industrial Hygiene Press Association inglis@cshl.org ljunker@aiha.org Demarie Jackson Brian Kahin American Psychological University of Michigan, Ford Association School of Public Policy djackson@apa.org kahin@umich.edu

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 101 Neal Kaske Alan Kraut University of Maryland American Psychological Society nkaske@umd.edu akraut@psychologicalscience.org Cara Kaufman Marc Krellenstein Kaufman-Wills Group, LLC Reed Elsevier ckaufman@bellatlantic.net m.krellenstein@elsevier.com Irena Kavalek Thomas Kuhn U.S. Geological Survey Library American College of Physicians ikavalek@usgs.gov tkuhn@acponline.org Michael Keller Catherine Langrehr HighWire Press Association of American michael.keller@stanford.edu Universities catherine_langrehr@aau.edu Maureen Kelly Consultant Judith LaVoie mckelly@ix.netcom.com VA Rehabilitation Research & Development Donald King judith@vard.org University of Pittsburgh dwking@pitt.edu Ann Link American Association of Gary Kittredge Immunologists - The Journal of Capital City Press, Inc. Immunology gkittred@capcitypress.com alink@ji.faseb.org Barbara Koehler Anne Linton Welch Library, Johns Hopkins George Washington University bmk@jhmi.edu mlbaml@gwumc.edu Michael Koenig David Lipman Long Island University National Institutes of Health/ michael.koenig@liu.edu National Center for Biotechnology Information Sheldon Kotzin dl2a@nih.gov National Library of Medicine/ NIH ann_bornstein@nlm.nih.gov

OCR for page 94
102 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Wendy Lougee Gene Major University of Minnesota Library National Aeronautics and Space wlougee@umn.edu Administration (NASA) major@gcmd.nasa.gov Michael Luby Columbia University Constance Malpas ml1047@columbia.edu The New York Academy of Medicine Richard Luce cmalpas@nyam.org Los Alamos National Laboratory rick.luce@lanl.gov David Martinsen American Chemical Society Richard Lucier d_martinsen@acs.org Dartmouth College richard.e.lucier@dartmouth.edu Jan Massey The American Association of Marilyn Lux Immunologists American College of Surgeons jmassey@aai.faseb.org mlux@facs.org Joseph Mazurkiewicz Clifford Lynch Journal of Histochemistry and Coalition for Networked Cytochemistry Information mazurkj@mail.amc.edu clifford@cni.org Luke McCabe James MacDonald American Institute of Aeronautics The American Phytopathological and Astronautics Society lukem@aiaa.org jdmacdonald@ucdavis.edu Katherine McCarter Jeffrey MacKie-Mason Ecological Society of America University of Michigan ksm@esa.org jmm@umich.edu Johanna McEntyre Amanda Maguire NCBI American Institute of Aeronautics mcentyre@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov and Astronautics amandam@aiaa.org

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 103 Bruce McHenry Pat Molholt Discussion Systems Columbia University Health bruce@discussionsystems.com Sciences Division molholt@columbia.edu Robert McKinney Cadmus Communications Robert Molyneux mckinneyr@cadmus.com U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information Peggy Merryman Science US Geological Survey Library bmolyneux@nclis.gov mmerryma@usgs.gov Marguerite Montes Henry Metzger Journal of Rehabilitation Research The National Academies, BISO & Development metzgerh@exchange.nih.gov marx@vard.org Cynthia Middleton John Muenning U.S. Government Printing Office University of Chicago Press cmiddleton@gpo.gov jmuenning@press.uchicago.edu Kenneth Miller Jane Murray American Association of Colleges University of Maryland Baltimore, of Pharmacy Health Sciences & Human kmiller@aacp.org Services Library jmurray@hshsl.umaryland.edu Lenne Miller The Endocrine Society Gordon Neavill lmiller@endo-society.org Wayne State University aa3401@wayne.edu Linda Miller Library of Congress Michael Neff lmil@loc.gov American Society for Horticultural Science Kurt Molholm mwneff@ashs.org Defense Technical Information Center Kathe Obrig kmolholm@dtic.mil Himmelfarb Library, The George Washington University mlbkso@gwumc.edu

OCR for page 94
104 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Jack Ochs Theresa Pickel American Chemical Society Alliance Communications Group, j_ochs@acs.org Allen Press,Inc. tpickel@allenpress.com James O'Donnell Georgetown University Kevin Pirkey jod@georgetown.edu Dartmouth Journal Services kpirkey@dartmouthjournals.com Ann Okerson Yale University Barbara Pope ann.okerson@yale.edu National Academy Press bkline@nas.edu Jill O'Neill National Federation of Heather Price Abstracting and Information Journal of Bone & Mineral Services (NFAIS) Research jilloneill@nfais.org heather@jbmr.org Shigeharu Ono Roberta Rand Kinokuniya Publications Service University of Miami - Rosenthal ono@kinokuniya.com School of Marine & Atmospheric Science David Osterbur rrand@rsmas.miami.edu Harvard University dosterbu@mcb.harvard.edu Alan Rapoport National Science Foundation Doris Peter arapopor@nsf.gov The Medical Letter, Inc. dpeter@medicalletter.org Howard Ratner Nature Publishing Group Walter Peter h.ratner@natureny.com CADMUS peterw@cadmus.com Tovah Reis Brown University Stephen Phelps tovah_reis@brown.edu Capital City Press sphelps@capcitypress.com Paul Resnick University of Michigan presnick@umich.edu

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 105 Leonard Rhine John Sack University of Florida Health Stanford University Science Center Libraries sack@stanford.edu lenny@library.health.ufl.edu Jennifer Samuels Susan Riedel AIAA Library of Congress jens@aiaa.org wrie@loc.gov Agnes Schonbrunn Nancy Rodnan University of Texas - Houston FASEB agnes.schonbrunn@uth.tmc.edu nrodnan@faseb.org Roger Schonfeld Linda Rosenstein The Andrew W. Mellon University of Pennsylvania Foundation Biomedical Library rcs@mellon.org rosenstl@mail.med.upenn.edu Edward Shortliffe Beth Rosner Columbia University AAAS shortliffe@dmi.columbia.edu Rosner@aaas.org Elliot Siegel Bernard Rous National Library of Medicine Association for Computing siegel@nlm.nih.gov Machinery rous@hq.acm.org Pamela Sieving National Institutes of Health Kevin Rowan Library The National Academies, ps256e@nih.gov COSEPUP krowan@nas.edu William Silberg Medscape Lucia Ruggiero bsilberg@webmd.net World Health Organization ruglucia@paho.org Natalie Simone-Fountaine Analytical Sciences, Inc. John Rumble nfountaine@asciences.com NIST john.rumble@nist.gov

OCR for page 94
106 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Robert Simoni Robert Stanley Department of Biological Sciences University of Alabama, rsimoni@asbmb.faseb.org Birmingham rstanley@uabmc.edu Susan Skomal American Anthropological Diane Sullenberger Association The National Academies sskomal@aaanet.org sullenb@nas.edu Eric Slater Alex Szalay American Chemical Society Johns Hopkins University e_slater@acs.org szalay@jhu.edu F. Hill Slowinski Herbert Tabor Worthington International American Society for hslowinski@worthingtoninternational.com Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Kent Smith htabor@asbmb.faseb.org National Library of Medicine kent_smith@nlm.nih.gov Marian Taliaferro Association of American Medical MacKenzie Smith Colleges MIT Libraries mtaliaferro@aamc.org kenzie@mit.edu Patricia Thibodeau Michael Smolens Duke University Medical Center 3BillionBooks thibo001@mc.duke.edu michael@3billionbooks.com Gordon Tibbitts John Sopka Blackwell Publishing National Technical Information GTibbitts@bos.blackwellpublishing.com Services wfinch@ntis.gov Jeanne Slater Trimble American Institute of Aeronautics Beth Staehle & Astronautics American Society of Plant jeannet@aiaa.org Biologists beths@aspb.org Ian Tuttle Georgetown University tuttlei@georgetown.edu

OCR for page 94
APPENDIX C 107 Paul Uhlir Judy Weislogel The National Academies, BISO Elsevier puhlir@nas.edu j.weislogel@elsevier.com Victor Van Beuren Nanette Welton American Association of University of Washington Pharmaceutical Scientists nwelton@u.washington.edu vanbeurenv@aaps.org Louise Wides Pamela Van Hine Wides Consulting, LLC American College of Obstetricians widesconsult@attglobal.net and Gynecologists pvanhine@acog.org Sophie Wilkinson American Chemical Society John Vaughn s_wilkinson@acs.org Association of American Universities Alma Wills john_vaughn@aau.edu Kaufman-Wills Group, LLC almawills12@comcast.net Jack Verna Analytical Sciences, Inc. Bonita Wilson jverna@asciences.com Corporation for National Research Initiatives (CNRI) Philip Wallas bwilson@cnri.reston.va.us EBSCO Information Services pwallas@ebsco.com Nancy Winchester American Society of Plant Mary Waltham Biologists Independent Consultant nancyw@aspb.org mary@marywaltham.com Terry Wittig Walt Warnick George Mason University U.S. Department of Energy twittig@gmu.edu walter.warnick@science.doe.gov Ann Wolpert Donald Waters Massachusetts Institute of The Andrew W. Mellon Technology Foundation awolpert@mit.edu pam@mellon.org

OCR for page 94
108 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING Melissa Yorks National Library of Medicine yorks@nih.gov Nevenka Zdravkovska Georgetown University nevenkaz@georgetown.edu Eric Zimmerman The Research Authority of Bar- Ilan University zimmee@mail.biu.ac.il Laura Zimmerman Fry Communications, Inc lzimmerm@frycomm.com