Stanford University. He received his B.Eng. and his PhD in physics from Cornell University. He then went to Harvard University as a research fellow and subsequently became a member of the faculty. In 1974 he joined the faculty of Stanford University where he became a full professor of applied physics in 1979. He served as the chairman of the Department of Applied Physics at Stanford from 1985-1989. In 1990 he was named the Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor of Applied Physics. From 1992 to 1998 he served as director of the Center for Materials Research. And from 1998 to 2001 he served as dean of the School of Humanities and Sciences. Professor Beasley is a member of Tau Beta Pi, the IEEE, the National Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Superior Teaching at Stanford University. He has served as a consultant to the National Science Foundation, Department of Energy, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, and various industrial laboratories. He has also served on various panels of the National Research Council of the National Academies. He was an elected member of the Board of Trustees of Associated Universities, Inc., for the period 2003-2005. Professor Beasley’s research interests are in materials physics with an emphasis on basic and applied superconductivity, in particular high-temperature superconducting materials and applications, and the development and application of advanced thin-film deposition techniques for complex materials.

Floyd Bloom* is chairman of the Department of Neuropharmacology at the Scripps Research Institute. He previously served as director of Behavioral Neurobiology at the Salk Institute and as chief of the Laboratory of Neuropharmacology of National Institute of Mental Health. Dr. Bloom is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine (IOM). He has received many awards, including the Pasarow Award in neuropsychiatry and the Hermann von Helmholtz Award, as well as a number of honorary degrees from major universities. He served as editor-in-chief of Science magazine from 1995-2001 and currently is the president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Board of Directors.

Robert Bovenschulte is director of the Publications Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), which publishes journals, magazines, books, and electronic products. Prior to joining ACS in 1997, he was vice president for publishing at the Massachusetts Medical Society, owner of the New England Journal of Medicine and other medical publications. His career spans scholarly, professional, trade, college, and school segments of the industry. He is a frequent speaker and moderator at conferences of publishers and librarians. Mr. Bovenschulte has served as chair of the Executive Board of the International Association of Scientific, Technical, and Medical Publishers, chair of the Board of Directors of the Copyright Clearance Center, chair of the Executive Council of the Association of American Publishers’ Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division, and member of the Board of Directors of the Council on Library and Information Resources.

Monica Bradford is the executive editor of the international journal Science (published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science). In this position she oversees the peer-review and selection of manuscripts; the copyediting and proofreading process; and the design, production, and manufacture of the print product. Over the past few years, Ms. Bradford has been heavily involved in the development of Science Online. In particular, she has helped create a new line of digital products referred to as online knowledge environments. Science’s STKE and SAGE KE, the first two products in this line, are directed at research scientists. In addition, Ms. Bradford administers the APBiotech & Science Prize for Young Scientists in Molecular Biology. Prior to joining the staff of Science in 1989, Ms. Bradford worked for the Publications Division of the American Chemical Society for nine years. She holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from St. Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN, and has done graduate work in management at the University of Maryland. Ms. Bradford was a member of the Board of Directors of the Council of Biology Editors, served as vice-chair of the Scientific Publishing Board of the American Heart Association, and is a member of the Society for Scholarly Publishing.

Patrick O. Brown is a professor of biochemistry at Stanford University School of Medicine and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator at the Stanford Medical School. He received his B.A. in chemistry, and M.D. and Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Chicago. He did his graduate work with Nick Cozzarelli, studying the basic molecular mechanisms of DNA topoisomerases. Following a residency in

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement