Appendix C
Symposium Participants

Laura Abate

Himmelfarb Library, The George Washington University

leabate@gwu.edu

Hal Abelson

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

hal@mit.edu

Karen Albert

Talbot Research Library, Fox Chase Cancer Center

km_albert@fccc.edu

Bruce Alberts

National Academy of Sciences

balberts@nas.edu

Kerri Allen

Association of Research Libraries

kerri@arl.org

Mohammad Al-Ubaydli

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

mo@mo.md

Kent Anderson

New England Journal of Medicine

kanderson@nejm.org

Carl Anderson

Drexel University Libraries

ca25@drexel.edu

Tom Arrison

The National Academies

tarrison@nas.edu

Susan Ashworth

Glasgow University

s.ashworth@lib.gla.ac.uk

Daniel Atkins

University of Michigan

atkins@umich.edu

John Aubry

American Museum of Natural History Library

jaubry@amnh.org

Midori Baer-Price

INFORMS, The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences

midori.baer-price@informs.org

Marcus Banks

National Library of Medicine

BanksM@mail.nlm.nih.gov

Lori Barber

ScholarOne

lori.barber@scholarone.com

Edward Barnas

Cambridge University Press

ebarnas@cup.org

Svetla Baykoucheva

American Chemical Society (ACS)

s_baykouchev@acs.org

Malcolm Beasley

Stanford University

beasley@stanford.edu

Philippa Benson

CABS, Conservation International

p.benson@conservation.org

Sandra Berlin

American Anthropological Association

sberlin@aaanet.org

R. Steven Berry

The University of Chicago

berry@uchicago.edu

Iona Black

Yale University, Dept. of Chemistry

iona.black@yale.edu

Floyd Bloom

The Scripps Research Institute

fbloom@scripps.edu

Ronald Bluestone

Library of Congress

rblu@loc.gov

Martin Blume

The American Physical Society

blume@aps.org



The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Appendix C Symposium Participants Laura Abate Himmelfarb Library, The George Washington University leabate@gwu.edu Hal Abelson Massachusetts Institute of Technology hal@mit.edu Karen Albert Talbot Research Library, Fox Chase Cancer Center km_albert@fccc.edu Bruce Alberts National Academy of Sciences balberts@nas.edu Kerri Allen Association of Research Libraries kerri@arl.org Mohammad Al-Ubaydli National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) mo@mo.md Kent Anderson New England Journal of Medicine kanderson@nejm.org Carl Anderson Drexel University Libraries ca25@drexel.edu Tom Arrison The National Academies tarrison@nas.edu Susan Ashworth Glasgow University s.ashworth@lib.gla.ac.uk Daniel Atkins University of Michigan atkins@umich.edu John Aubry American Museum of Natural History Library jaubry@amnh.org Midori Baer-Price INFORMS, The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences midori.baer-price@informs.org Marcus Banks National Library of Medicine BanksM@mail.nlm.nih.gov Lori Barber ScholarOne lori.barber@scholarone.com Edward Barnas Cambridge University Press ebarnas@cup.org Svetla Baykoucheva American Chemical Society (ACS) s_baykouchev@acs.org Malcolm Beasley Stanford University beasley@stanford.edu Philippa Benson CABS, Conservation International p.benson@conservation.org Sandra Berlin American Anthropological Association sberlin@aaanet.org R. Steven Berry The University of Chicago berry@uchicago.edu Iona Black Yale University, Dept. of Chemistry iona.black@yale.edu Floyd Bloom The Scripps Research Institute fbloom@scripps.edu Ronald Bluestone Library of Congress rblu@loc.gov Martin Blume The American Physical Society blume@aps.org

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Robert Bovenschulte American Chemical Society Publications rbovenschulte@acs.org Monica Bradford American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) mbradfor@aaas.org Kerry Brenner The National Academies, BLS kbrenner@nas.edu Sarah Brookhart American Psychological Society sbrookhart@psychologicalscience.org Patrick Brown Stanford University pbrown@cmgm.stanford.edu David Bruggeman The National Academies dbruggem@nas.edu Edward Campion New England Journal of Medicine ecampion@nejm.org Gene Carbona The Medical Letter gene@medicalletter.org Bonnie Carroll CENDI bcarroll@infointl.com Mary Case Association of Research Librarians marycase@arl.org Meredith Cawley AIAA meredithc@aiaa.org Guy Chalk Johns Hopkins University Center for Communication Programs gchalk@jhuccp.org Leslie Chan University of Toronto at Scarborough chan@utsc.utoronto.ca Nina Chang Elsevier n.chang@elsevier.com Bonnie Chojnacki University of Maryland bc128@umail.umd.edu Pamela Clapp Hinkle Marine Biological Laboratory pclapp@mbl.edu Jeff Clark James Madison University clarkjc@jmu.edu William Cohen The Biological Bulletin, Hunter College cohen@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu Eileen Collins S&T Studies el.collins@verizon.net Jim Comes Univ. of Massachusetts Medical School james.comes@umassmed.edu Joan Comstock Cadmus comstockj@cadmus.com Bridget Coughlin The National Academies bcoughli@nas.edu C. Arleen Courtney American Chemical Society a_courtney@acs.org Denise Covey Carnegie Mellon, Hunt Library troll@andrew.cmu.edu Nicholas Cozzarelli University of California, Berkeley ncozzare@socrates.Berkeley.edu Brian Crawford John Wiley & Sons, Inc. bcrawfor@wiley.com Vicki Croft Washington State University croft@wsu.edu

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Raym Crow Chain Bridge Group crow@chainbridgegroup.com Bruce Dancik NRC Research Press c/o Renewable Resources bruce.dancik@ualberta.ca Lloyd Davidson Northwestern University, Mudd Library for Science & Engineering Ldavids@northwestern.edu Adrienne Davis The National Academies adavis@nas.edu Bart De Castro Cambridge Scientific Abstracts bdecastro@csa.com Stephanie Dean American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) sdean@ascb.org Laura Dean National Center for Biotechnology Information laura@idiopathic.com Masako Dickinson American Chemical Society med96@acs.org Heather Dittbrenner Independent Consultant hdittbrenner@comcast.net Lisa Dittrich Association of American Medical Colleges lrdittrich@aamc.org Richard Dodenhoff American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics rdodenhoff@aspet.org Daniel Dollar Yale University, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library daniel.dollar@yale.edu Mark Doyle The American Physical Society doyle@aps.org Guy Dresser Allen Press, Inc. gdresser@allenpress.com Michael Droettboom Johns Hopkins University mdboom@jhu.edu James Duderstadt University of Michigan jjd@umich.edu Carol Edwards American Statistical Association caroled@amstat.org Anita Eisenstadt National Science Foundation aeisenst@nsf.gov Julie Esanu The National Academies, BISO jesanu@nas.edu Joseph Esposito SRI Consulting jesposito@sric.sri.com Walter Finch National Technical Information Service wfinch@ntis.gov Henry Flores Copyright Clearance Center, Inc. hflores@copyright.com Martin Frank American Physiological Society mfrank@the-aps.org Mark Frankel AAAS mfrankel@aaas.org Tracie Frederick Georgetown University Medical Center tef7@georgetown.edu Theodore Freeman Allen Press, Inc. tfreeman@allenpress.com Amy Friedlander Council on Library and Information Resources amfr@loc.gov

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Fred Friend Joint Information Systems Committee f.friend@ucl.ac.uk Sherrilynne Fuller University of Washington sfuller@u.washington.edu Ken Fulton The National Academies kfulton@nas.edu John Gardenier Independent Consultant drgarden@erols.com Lorrin Garson American Chemical Society lgarson@acs.org Julia Gelfand University of California, Irvine Libraries jgelfand@uci.edu Jane Ginsburg Columbia University School of Law ginsburg@law.columbia.edu Carter Glass American Geophysical Union cglass@agu.org Erica Goldstein American Society for Nutritional Sciences goldsteine@asns.org Barbara Gordon American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology bgordon@asbmb.faseb.org Albert Greco Fordham University angreco@aol.com Michael Greenberg The Whitney Laboratory mjgberg@aug.com Suzanne Grefsheim NIH Libarary sg8d@nih.gov Jane Griffith National Library of Medicine jbgriffith@nlm.nih.gov Anne Gwynn Library of Congress, Congressional Research Services agwynn@crs.loc.gov Melissa Hagemann Open Society Institute mhagemann@sorosny.org Joel Hammond BIOSIS jkhammond@biosis.org Charles Hancock American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) chancock@asbmb.faseb.org Holly Harden Welch Medical Library, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions hharden@mail.jhmi.edu Elizabeth Have BIOSIS btenhave@biosis.org Michael Held The Rockefeller University Press held@rockefeller.edu Stephen Heller National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) srheller@nist.gov Robert Hershey Medical Doctor hershey@cpcug.org Derek Hill National Science Foundation dhill@nsf.gov Carol Hunter University of Virginia chunter@virginia.edu Alvin Hutchinson Smithsonian Institution Libraries, National Zoological Park Library hutchinsona@si.edu John Inglis Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press inglis@cshl.org

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Demarie Jackson American Psychological Association djackson@apa.org Beth Jacoby University of Maryland, Baltimore, Health Science Library bjacoby@hshsl.umaryland.edu Brent Jacocks American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) journals@asha.org Michael Jensen National Academies Press mjensen@nas.edu Michael Jensen Harvard University michael_jensen@ssrn.com Nels Jensen Blackwell Publishing Nels.jensen@usa.blackwellpublishing.com Rick Johnson SPARC rick@arl.org Heather Joseph BioOne heather@arl.org Lisa Junker American Industrial Hygiene Association ljunker@aiha.org Brian Kahin University of Michigan, Ford School of Public Policy kahin@umich.edu Neal Kaske University of Maryland nkaske@umd.edu Cara Kaufman Kaufman-Wills Group, LLC ckaufman@bellatlantic.net Irena Kavalek U.S. Geological Survey Library ikavalek@usgs.gov Michael Keller HighWire Press michael.keller@stanford.edu Maureen Kelly Consultant mckelly@ix.netcom.com Donald King University of Pittsburgh dwking@pitt.edu Gary Kittredge Capital City Press, Inc. gkittred@capcitypress.com Barbara Koehler Welch Library, Johns Hopkins bmk@jhmi.edu Michael Koenig Long Island University michael.koenig@liu.edu Sheldon Kotzin National Library of Medicine/NIH ann_bornstein@nlm.nih.gov Alan Kraut American Psychological Society akraut@psychologicalscience.org Marc Krellenstein Reed Elsevier m.krellenstein@elsevier.com Thomas Kuhn American College of Physicians tkuhn@acponline.org Catherine Langrehr Association of American Universities catherine_langrehr@aau.edu Judith LaVoie VA Rehabilitation Research & Development judith@vard.org Ann Link American Association of Immunologists - The Journal of Immunology alink@ji.faseb.org Anne Linton George Washington University mlbaml@gwumc.edu

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium David Lipman National Institutes of Health/National Center for Biotechnology Information dl2a@nih.gov Wendy Lougee University of Minnesota Library wlougee@umn.edu Michael Luby Columbia University ml1047@columbia.edu Richard Luce Los Alamos National Laboratory rick.luce@lanl.gov Richard Lucier Dartmouth College richard.e.lucier@dartmouth.edu Marilyn Lux American College of Surgeons mlux@facs.org Clifford Lynch Coalition for Networked Information clifford@cni.org James MacDonald The American Phytopathological Society jdmacdonald@ucdavis.edu Jeffrey MacKie-Mason University of Michigan jmm@umich.edu Amanda Maguire American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics amandam@aiaa.org Gene Major National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) major@gcmd.nasa.gov Constance Malpas The New York Academy of Medicine cmalpas@nyam.org David Martinsen American Chemical Society d_martinsen@acs.org Jan Massey The American Association of Immunologists jmassey@aai.faseb.org Joseph Mazurkiewicz Journal of Histochemistry and Cytochemistry mazurkj@mail.amc.edu Luke McCabe American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics lukem@aiaa.org Katherine McCarter Ecological Society of America ksm@esa.org Johanna McEntyre NCBI mcentyre@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov Bruce McHenry Discussion Systems bruce@discussionsystems.com Robert McKinney Cadmus Communications mckinneyr@cadmus.com Peggy Merryman US Geological Survey Library mmerryma@usgs.gov Henry Metzger The National Academies, BISO metzgerh@exchange.nih.gov Cynthia Middleton U.S. Government Printing Office cmiddleton@gpo.gov Linda Miller Library of Congress lmil@loc.gov Kenneth Miller American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy kmiller@aacp.org Lenne Miller The Endocrine Society lmiller@endo-society.org Kurt Molholm Defense Technical Information Center kmolholm@dtic.mil

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Pat Molholt Columbia University Health Sciences Division molholt@columbia.edu Robert Molyneux U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science bmolyneux@nclis.gov Marguerite Montes Journal of Rehabilitation Research & Development marx@vard.org John Muenning University of Chicago Press jmuenning@press.uchicago.edu Jane Murray University of Maryland Baltimore, Health Sciences & Human Services Library jmurray@hshsl.umaryland.edu Gordon Neavill Wayne State University aa3401@wayne.edu Michael Neff American Society for Horticultural Science mwneff@ashs.org Kathe Obrig Himmelfarb Library, The George Washington University mlbkso@gwumc.edu Jack Ochs American Chemical Society j_ochs@acs.org James O'Donnell Georgetown University jod@georgetown.edu Ann Okerson Yale University ann.okerson@yale.edu Jill O'Neill National Federation of Abstracting and Information Services (NFAIS) jilloneill@nfais.org Shigeharu Ono Kinokuniya Publications Service ono@kinokuniya.com David Osterbur Harvard University dosterbu@mcb.harvard.edu Doris Peter The Medical Letter, Inc. dpeter@medicalletter.org Walter Peter CADMUS peterw@cadmus.com Stephen Phelps Capital City Press sphelps@capcitypress.com Theresa Pickel Alliance Communications Group, Allen Press, Inc. tpickel@allenpress.com Kevin Pirkey Dartmouth Journal Services kpirkey@dartmouthjournals.com Barbara Pope National Academy Press bkline@nas.edu Heather Price Journal of Bone & Mineral Research heather@jbmr.org Roberta Rand University of Miami - Rosenthal School of Marine & Atmospheric Science rrand@rsmas.miami.edu Alan Rapoport National Science Foundation arapopor@nsf.gov Howard Ratner Nature Publishing Group h.ratner@natureny.com Tovah Reis Brown University tovah_reis@brown.edu Paul Resnick University of Michigan presnick@umich.edu

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Leonard Rhine University of Florida Health Science Center Libraries lenny@library.health.ufl.edu Susan Riedel Library of Congress wrie@loc.gov Nancy Rodnan FASEB nrodnan@faseb.org Linda Rosenstein University of Pennsylvania Biomedical Library rosenstl@mail.med.upenn.edu Beth Rosner AAAS Rosner@aaas.org Bernard Rous Association for Computing Machinery rous@hq.acm.org Kevin Rowan The National Academies, COSEPUP krowan@nas.edu Lucia Ruggiero World Health Organization ruglucia@paho.org John Rumble NIST john.rumble@nist.gov John Sack Stanford University sack@stanford.edu Jennifer Samuels AIAA jens@aiaa.org Agnes Schonbrunn University of Texas - Houston agnes.schonbrunn@uth.tmc.edu Roger Schonfeld The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation rcs@mellon.org Edward Shortliffe Columbia University shortliffe@dmi.columbia.edu Elliot Siegel National Library of Medicine siegel@nlm.nih.gov Pamela Sieving National Institutes of Health Library ps256e@nih.gov William Silberg Medscape bsilberg@webmd.net Natalie Simone-Fountaine Analytical Sciences, Inc. nfountaine@asciences.com Robert Simoni Department of Biological Sciences rsimoni@asbmb.faseb.org Susan Skomal American Anthropological Association sskomal@aaanet.org Eric Slater American Chemical Society e_slater@acs.org F. Hill Slowinski Worthington International hslowinski@worthingtoninternational.com MacKenzie Smith MIT Libraries kenzie@mit.edu Kent Smith National Library of Medicine kent_smith@nlm.nih.gov Michael Smolens 3BillionBooks michael@3billionbooks.com John Sopka National Technical Information Services wfinch@ntis.gov Beth Staehle American Society of Plant Biologists beths@aspb.org Robert Stanley University of Alabama, Birmingham rstanley@uabmc.edu

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Diane Sullenberger The National Academies sullenb@nas.edu Alex Szalay Johns Hopkins University szalay@jhu.edu Herbert Tabor American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology htabor@asbmb.faseb.org Marian Taliaferro Association of American Medical Colleges mtaliaferro@aamc.org Patricia Thibodeau Duke University Medical Center thibo001@mc.duke.edu Gordon Tibbitts Blackwell Publishing GTibbitts@bos.blackwellpublishing.com Jeanne Slater Trimble American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics jeannet@aiaa.org Ian Tuttle Georgetown University tuttlei@georgetown.edu Paul Uhlir The National Academies, BISO puhlir@nas.edu Victor Van Beuren American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists vanbeurenv@aaps.org Pamela Van Hine American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists pvanhine@acog.org John Vaughn Association of American Universities john_vaughn@aau.edu Jack Verna Analytical Sciences, Inc. jverna@asciences.com Philip Wallas EBSCO Information Services pwallas@ebsco.com Mary Waltham Independent Consultant mary@marywaltham.com Walt Warnick U.S. Department of Energy walter.warnick@science.doe.gov Donald Waters The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation pam@mellon.org Judy Weislogel Elsevier j.weislogel@elsevier.com Nanette Welton University of Washington nwelton@u.washington.edu Louise Wides Wides Consulting, LLC widesconsult@attglobal.net Sophie Wilkinson American Chemical Society s_wilkinson@acs.org Alma Wills Kaufman-Wills Group, LLC almawills12@comcast.net Bonita Wilson Corporation for National Research Initiatives (CNRI) bwilson@cnri.reston.va.us Nancy Winchester American Society of Plant Biologists nancyw@aspb.org Terry Wittig George Mason University twittig@gmu.edu Ann Wolpert Massachusetts Institute of Technology awolpert@mit.edu Melissa Yorks National Library of Medicine yorks@nih.gov

OCR for page 115
Electronic Scientific, Technical, and Medical Journal Publishing and its Implications: Proceedings of a Symposium Nevenka Zdravkovska Georgetown University nevenkaz@georgetown.edu Laura Zimmerman Fry Communications, Inc lzimmerm@frycomm.com Eric Zimmerman The Research Authority of Bar-Ilan University zimmee@mail.biu.ac.il