Charles M. Vest, Workshop Co-chair, has been president of MIT since 1990. During this time he has placed special emphasis on enhancing undergraduate education, exploring new organizational forms to meet emerging directions in research and education, building a stronger international dimension into education and research programs, developing stronger relations with industry, and enhancing racial and cultural diversity at MIT. He also has devoted considerable energy to bringing issues concerning education and research to broader public attention and to strengthening national policy on science, engineering, and education. Dr. Vest chaired the President’s Advisory Committee on the Redesign of the Space Station and has served as a member of the President’s Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), the Massachusetts Governor’s Council on Economic Growth and Technology, and the National Research Council’s Board on Engineering Education. He chairs the U.S. Department of Energy Task Force on the Future of Science Programs and is vice chair of the Council on Competitiveness and immediate past chair of the Association of American Universities (AAU). He sits on the board of directors of both IBM and E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co. As a member of the mechanical engineering faculty at MIT, Vest has research interests in the thermal sciences and the engineering applications of lasers and coherent optics. He earned his B.S. degree in mechanical engineering from West Virginia University in 1963 and both his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Michigan in 1964 and 1967, respectively.

Marye Anne Fox, Workshop Co-chair, is the twelfth chancellor of North Carolina State University. Before her appointment at NC State, Dr. Fox was the M. June and J. Virgil Waggoner Regents Chair in Chemistry and vice president for research at the University of Texas at Austin, where she was responsible for administrative support for research both on and off the campus at Austin. In 1996-1997, this research enterprise included $246 million in sponsored research which extended over a broad range of university departments and interdisciplinary units. Dr. Fox is a frequent lecturer on science education reform and is currently president of the Association for Women in Science. She has served as co-chair of a National Science Foundation/National Science Board taskforce on graduate education and has served on state and National Research Council advisory panels. She now chairs the National Research Council’s Committee on Undergraduate Science Education and serves on the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy. She is president of Sigma Xi. Dr. Fox was elected co-chair of the National Academy of Sciences’ Council of Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable. She currently serves on the boards of W.R. Grace, Inc. and the Stanford Research Institute, and on scientific advisory boards for the Welch, Dreyfus, and Packard Foundations. From 1994 to 1996 she served as vice chairman of the National Science Board and chaired its Committee on Programs and Plans from 1991 to 1994. She serves on a large number of state, national, and professional society boards and has published extensively in organic photochemistry and electrochemistry. Her work has clear application in materials science, solar energy conversion, and environmental chemistry. She has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society and is a fellow of both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has received numerous professional awards. Dr. Fox received her B.S. from Notre Dame College and a Ph.D. degree from Dartmouth College, both in chemistry. After a postdoctoral appointment at the University of Maryland, she joined the University of Texas at Austin in 1976.

Thurman John (T.J.) Allard leads Sandia National Laboratories’ Homeland Security Office. He is responsible for guiding and overseeing all of its terrorism-combating activities and is also Sandia’s point of contact for the Department of Homeland Security. Prior to his current

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement