BOX 1-1
The Ryan White CARE Act

The Ryan White CARE Act funds outpatient care and support services, including medical care, dental care, case management, and prescription drugs through the AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP). In some cases it can also be used to fund insurance continuation. CARE Act funds do not pay for inpatient care or long-term institutional care. CARE Act-funded services are provided to more than half a million individuals each year, making it the federal government’s largest HIV-specific care program. The CARE Act is organized into four titles and three targeted components:

Title I

Title I provides emergency assistance to the Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) that are most severely affected by the epidemic. There are currently 51 EMAs in 28 states and territories including Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. Title I funds are used to provide medical and ancillary/support services. To receive Title I funds, an EMA must establish an HIV Health Services Planning Council representing various stakeholders within the community to allocate funds.

Title II

Title II provides grants to all states and eligible territories and funds the ADAP. Title II funds health care and support services, as well as health insurance continuation. Prescription drugs are funded under ADAP, which constitutes well over half of total Title II funds.

Title III

Title III grants are provided directly from the federal government to the eligible organization, which must be a public or private nonprofit entity that is currently providing or intends to provide comprehensive HIV primary care. There are three grant programs under Title III: Capacity Building Grant Program, Planning Grant Program, and Early Intervention Services.

Title IV

Title IV provides medical care as well as social, outreach, and prevention services to children, youth, and women living with HIV and their families.

Special Projects of National Significance (SPNS)

SPNS grants are provided to eligible entities to establish innovative models of care. The purpose of the SPNS program is to evaluate the effectiveness of programs and foster the development of new ideas.

The AIDS Education and Training Centers (AETCs)

AETC grants support a network of 11 regional centers plus associated sites that provide education and training to health care providers serving people living with HIV/AIDS.


The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement