Appendix A
Biographical Sketches of Committee Members

Patrick F. Flynn (NAE), chair, is retired vice president for research at Cummins Engine Company, Inc. He received his bachelor and master’s degrees in agricultural engineering from the University of Minnesota, his MBA from Indiana University, and his PhD in mechanical engineering from the University of Wisconsin. Among other professional associations, Dr. Flynn was on the executive advisory board of the U.S. Army University Research Initiative and was on the advisory board for the Department of Energy’s combustion research facility at Sandia National Laboratories. Dr. Flynn is a member of the Combustion Institute and a registered Professional Engineer in Indiana. He is a member of the NRC Board on Army Science and Technology (BAST) and served as a member of the Committee on Army after Next Logistics. He has expertise in mechanical engineering and integrated power systems.

Millard F. Rose, vice chair, is vice president for research at Radiance Technologies, Inc. He is former director of the Science Directorate at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Marshall Space Flight Center and also a former professor of electrical engineering and director of the Space Power Institute at Auburn University. He is author of well over 150 technical publications dealing with electromechanics, energy conversion, and environmental effects. Dr. Rose received his BS degree in physics from the University of Virginia and his MS and PhD in solid state science from Pennsylvania State University. He served as a member of the NRC Committee on Electric Power for the Dismounted Soldier and was chair of the NRC Committee on Unmanned Ground Vehicle Technology. Dr. Rose has expertise in electrical engineering and advanced power technology research and development. He is also an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) fellow, an AIAA associate fellow, and a National Associate of the National Academies.

Robert W. Brodersen (NAE), a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California, Berkeley, has extensive experience with integrated circuit design and communications signal processing. He is a fellow of the IEEE and is a former member of the technical staff of the Texas Instruments Central Research Laboratory. Professor Brodersen is a co-director of the Berkeley Wireless Research Center, and he served on the NRC Committee on Electric Power for the Dismounted Soldier. His expertise is in the development of low-power electronics devices.

Elton J. Cairns is professor of chemical engineering at the University of California at Berkeley and was director of the Energy and Environment Division of the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory from 1978 to 1996. He developed high-power-density secondary battery systems at the Argonne National Laboratory and was assistant head of the Electrochemistry Department at the General Motors Research Laboratories. He has served on several NRC committees, including the National Materials Advisory Board (NMAB) Committee on Electrochemical Aspects of Energy Conservation and its Committee on Production and Battery Materials Technology, and he was a member of the BAST Committee on Power for the Dismounted Soldier. Dr. Cairns has authored over 200 publications, and he holds 15 patents. His expertise is in battery and fuel cell research and development.

Huk Y. Cheh is vice president for technology at the Duracell Corporation. He received his BASc degree from the University of Ottawa and his PhD from the University of California at Berkeley, both in chemical engineering. He was on the technical staff at Bell Laboratories and headed the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry at Columbia University. Dr. Cheh has authored about 150 peer-reviewed papers and 7 patents. His expertise is in electrochemical systems and battery technology.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement