Walter L. Davis is vice president and director of the Advanced Consumer Systems Architecture Laboratory at the Motorola Corporation. As past director of Strategic Semiconductor Operations, Mr. Davis led a multiyear “war on power drain,” which resulted in quantum improvements in the performance of Motorola paging and communications devices. He helped develop the first custom integrated circuits used in commercial radio equipment and holds over 75 issued patents in semiconductor and communications technology. Mr. Davis received his BSEE and MSEE degrees from the Illinois Institute of Technology. His expertise is in power distribution and management of low-power electronics.

Robert H. Dennard (NAE) is an IBM Fellow at the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center. He is an expert on solid state electronics and digital applications, particularly power issues and future technology trends. Dr. Dennard invented the one-transistor DRAM memory cell, coauthored the scaling rules that drive microelectronics, and has 30 issued U.S. patents. He received his BSEE and MSEE degrees from Southern Methodist University and his PhD from the Carnegie Institute of Technology. He served as a reviewer for the NRC report Energy-Efficient Technologies for the Dismounted Soldier. Dr. Dennard has expertise in power distribution and management for low-power electronics devices.

Paul E. Funk is director of the Institute for Advanced Technology at the University of Texas in Austin and former vice president of General Dynamics Land Systems. He is a retired Army lieutenant general who served as a division commander in the Gulf War, commander of the Third Armored Corps, and commander of the National Training Center. Dr. Funk received his EdD in education and training from Montana State University and has served on both the Defense and Army Science Boards. He has expertise in land combat, command and control systems, and military operations and requirements.

Robert J. Nowak is a consultant and former program manager at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and the Office of Naval Research. He has directed and supported research in fuel cells, batteries, capacitors, energy harvesting, fuel processing, thermal energy conversion, microengines, hydrogen storage, biofuel cells, sonoluminescence, and biomolecular motors. Dr. Nowak initiated the DARPA Palm Power program, which focuses on portable power research and development for a variety of DOD missions. He received his BA and MS degrees in chemistry from Oakland University and his PhD degree in chemistry from the University of Cincinnati, and he was selected as NRC postdoctoral fellow at the Naval Research Laboratory in 1979. Dr. Nowak’s expertise is in power and energy system technologies.

Jeffrey A. Schmidt is staff consultant and lead fuel cell technologist at Ball Aerospace Company. He was lead systems engineer on the SNORKLER program that developed the first successful man-portable, continuous-power PEM fuel cell for the DOD, and he has been lead integrator of fuel cell technologies for the DARPA Palm Power program. Dr. Schmidt received his BS degree in chemistry from North Dakota State University and his PhD in physical chemistry from Florida State University. He has expertise in the development of fuel-cell technologies and the integration of hybrid fuel cell systems.

Daniel P. Siewiorek (NAE) is Buhl University Professor in the School of Computer Science and the CIT Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the Human Computer Interaction Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. He has designed multiprocessor computer systems and authored textbooks on parallel processing, computer architectures, and reliable computing. He is a former consulting engineer for the Digital Equipment Corporation and the Naval Research Laboratory, was elected a fellow of the IEEE for contributions to the design of modular computing systems, and served on the BAST Committee on Electric Power for the Dismounted Soldier. Dr. Siewiorek’s expertise is in assessing power distribution requirements for soldier-portable computer systems.

Karen Swider Lyons is materials engineer at the Naval Research Laboratory and former program assistant for the Office of Naval Research. She is principal investigator on distributed microbatteries for next-generation electronics devices and the development of catalysts for low-cost proton exchange membrane fuel cells. She is also technical advisor to the DARPA Palm Power program on portable batteries and fuel cells. Dr. Lyons received her BS in chemistry from Haverford College and her PhD in materials science and engineering from the University of Pennsylvania. She has expertise in portable power system technologies.

Enoch Wang is a program management engineer at the Central Intelligence Agency. He was formerly program scientist at the Duracell Research Center, where he conducted research for over 10 years, including 6 years of extensive experience with lithium ion materials. Dr. Wang received his BA in chemistry, his BS in chemical engineering, and his PhD in inorganic chemistry, all from Rutgers University. He is an active reviewer for the Journal of the Electrochemical Society and an officer in the U.S. Army Reserve. Dr. Wang has expertise in battery chemistries and technologies.

Donald P. Whalen is a consultant for Cypress International Corporation and retired U.S. Army brigadier general. While on active duty he served in the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Research, Development and Acquisition, as program manager for acquisition of the Bradley Fighting

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement