Regina M. Benjamin, M.D., M.B.A. Dr. Benjamin is founder and Chief Executive Officer of the Bayou La Batre Rural Health Clinic in Bayou La Batre, Alabama. She is also Associate Dean for Rural Health at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine in Mobile, where she administers the Alabama Area Health Education Center program and previously administered the telemedicine program. She currently serves as President of the Medical Association, State of Alabama. In 1998 Dr. Benjamin was the U.S. recipient of the Nelson Mandela Award for Health and Human Rights. In 1995, she was the first physician under age 40 and the first African American woman to be elected to the American Medical Association’s (AMA) board of trustees. She has also served as President of the AMA Education and Research Foundation, and is a member of the AMA’s Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs. Dr. Benjamin attended Xavier University in New Orleans and was a member of the second class of Morehouse School of Medicine. She received her medical degree from the University of Alabama, Birmingham, and completed her residency in family practice at the Medical Center of Central Georgia. She also received a masters in business administration from Tulane University.

Linda Burnes Bolton, R.N., Dr.P.H. Dr. Burnes Bolton is Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer of Cedars-Sinai Health System and Research Institute, Los Angeles, California. She also holds graduate faculty appointments at the University of California, Los Angeles; University of California, San Francisco; and California State University, Los Angeles. Her primary research focus is women’s health, health policy, and organizational development. As a member of the Cedars-Sinai Research Institute, she leads interdisciplinary research teams addressing health services and nursing research. Dr. Burnes Bolton is codeveloper of the National Black Nurses Association Community Collaboration Model. This model has been tested and is currently used in more than 100 communities throughout the United States and as a framework for improving community health. Dr. Burnes Bolton holds a bachelor of science degree in nursing from Arizona State University, masters degrees in nursing and public health, and a doctorate in public health from the University of California, Los Angeles. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

Bruce E. Bradley, M.B.A. Mr. Bradley is Director, Health Plan Strategy and Public Policy for General Motors (GM) Health Care Initiatives. He is responsible for health care–related strategy and public policy, with a focus on quality measurement and improvement, consumer engagement, and cost-effectiveness. Mr. Bradley joined GM in June 1996 after 5 years as Corporate Manager of Managed Care for GTE Corporation. In addition to his health care management experience at GTE, he spent nearly 20 years in health plan and health maintenance organization (HMO) management. He was cofounder of the HMO Group (now the Alliance of Community Health Plans), a national corporation of 15 nonprofit, independent group-practice HMOs, and the HMO Group Insurance Co., Ltd. Mr. Bradley has gained recognition for his work in achieving health plan quality improvement and for his efforts in developing the Health Plan Employer Data and Information Set (HEDIS measurements and processes. He is a board member of the National Quality Forum, Treasurer of the board of the Foundation for Accountability, a past board member of The Academy for Health Services Research and Policy, and a founding member and past Chair of the Leapfrog Group board. Mr. Bradley holds a bachelors degree in psychology from Yale University and a masters degree in business and health care administration from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Allen S. Daniels, LISW, Ed.D. Dr. Daniels is Chief Executive Officer for Alliance Behavioral Care—a regional managed behavioral health care organization—and serves as Executive Director for University Psychiatric Services, a multidisciplinary behavioral group practice.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement