(JAPEX/JNOC/GSC Mallik 2L-38 and Mallik 2002), where he collaborated with seven partners and twenty research agencies from four nations. Mr. Dallimore has also spearheaded a methane hydrate laboratory program at the Geological Survey of Canada.

Rana A. Fine earned her Ph.D. from the University of Miami in 1975. She is a professor of marine and atmospheric chemistry at the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science at the University of Miami. Dr. Fine’s research interests include understanding the physical processes that determine the capacity of the oceans to take up atmospheric constituents, such as carbon dioxide. This involves measuring chlorofluorocarbons to study the rate at which the world’s oceans circulate. In addition to being a past member of the Ocean Studies Board (1992-1998), Dr. Fine served as a chair and member of several NRC committees including the Committee on Major U.S. Oceanographic Research Programs, the Panel on Climate Variability on Decade-to-Century Time Scales, the Geophysics Study Committee, and the Advisory Panel for the Tropical Ocean/Global Atmosphere Program. She is currently retiring chair of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences and a member on the American Meteorological Society (AMS) Council. Some of her past awards include being elected as a fellow of the American Geophysical Union (1993) and secretary and president of the Ocean Sciences Section, fellow of the AAAS (1997), and fellow of the AMS (2001).

Amos M. Nur earned his Ph.D. in geophysics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is a professor of geophysics and the director of the Rock Physics and Borehole Geophysics Project at Stanford University. Dr. Nur’s research interests include wave propagation, fluid flow, permeability, fractures and electrostatic properties of sedimentary rocks and how these apply to geophysical exploration, reservoir evaluation, and geo-thermal resources. He is also pursuing research on the mechanics of faults and accretion tectonics. Among his many awards for research and education, he is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Geophysical Union, a fellow of the Geological Society of America, an honorary member of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, and a fellow of the California Academy of Sciences.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement