Michael Rock is Chair of the Department of Economics at Bryn Mawr College. Most recently he was Chair of the Department of Economics at Hood College. He previously worked as a senior economist at Winrock International Institute for Agricultural Development and in several senior positions at the U.S. Agency for International Development.

Allan Rosenfield is Dean of the Columbia University School of Public Health and Professor of Obstetrics-Gynecology and Public Health. He is currently chairman of the New York State Department of Health AIDS Advisory Council and President-elect of the Association of Schools of Public Health.

Philip Smith is a consultant specializing in science and technology policy analysis. He was previously Executive Officer of the National Academy of Sciences and National Research Council. He also served in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Office of Management and Budget, and National Science Foundation.

Barry Worthington is Executive Director of the United States Energy Association. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the World Environment Center and previously served as a Vice President of the Thomas Alva Edison Foundation.

National Research Council Staff

Glenn Schweitzer, Project Director

Pat Koshel, Senior Program Officer

Laura Holliday, Senior Program Associate

Christopher Holt, Senior Program Assistant

For more information on the study please contact the NRC staff at 202–334–2644 or by email to cholt@nas.edu.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement