• ensure that U.S. CLIVAR activities are coordinated with international CLIVAR activities and other U.S. GCRP elements;

  • provide oversight and coordination of and guidance to U.S. CLIVAR working groups;

  • provide advice for and implement, in consultation with other advisory bodies, effective transition of sustained observations initiated during CLIVAR to operational entities after they have demonstrated their usefulness for climate predictions;

  • keep the National Research Council’s Climate Research Committee apprised of the status of U.S. CLIVAR, and acts as U.S. liaison to the International CLIVAR Scientific Steering Group; and

  • provide oversight of and guidance to the U.S. CLIVAR Project Office.

TABLE B.2 U.S. CLIVAR Scientific Steering Committee Members



James Carton

University of Maryland

Tom Delworth

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration – Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

Lisa Goddard

International Research Institution for Climate Prediction

James Hurrell (co-chair)

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Dick Johnson

Colorado State University

Jerry Meehl

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Dean Roemmich

Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Paul Schopf

George Mason University-COLA

Max Suarez

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Goddard Space Flight Center

Robert Weller (co-chair)

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Bruce Wielicki

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Langley Research Center

Although the IAG is comprised of four agencies, only NASA, NOAA, and NSF collaborated to form and financially support the U.S. CLIVAR Project Office (USCPO). DOE neither funds the USCPO nor is it an active participant in U.S. CLIVAR activities. NASA provides some financial support to the USCPO, but it is not actively involved in U.S. CLIVAR. The USCPO meets with the IAG monthly and with individual IAG members as needed. The USCPO has monthly teleconferences with the SSC co-chairs, and also exchanges email with them for more regular interaction.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement