Professional Staff

DEBORAH D. STINE (Study Director) is associate director of the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy (COSEPUP) and director of the Office of Special Projects. She has worked on various projects at the National Academies since 1989. She received a National Research Council group award for her first study for COSEPUP, on policy implications of greenhouse warming; a Commission on Life Sciences staff citation for her work in risk assessment and management; and two awards from the Policy and Global Affairs Division for her efforts in dissemination of National Academies’ reports. Other studies have addressed human reproductive cloning, setting priorities for NSF’s large research facilities, science and technology presidential appointments, science and technology centers, international benchmarking of U.S. research fields, graduate and postdoctoral education, responsible conduct of research, careers in science and engineering, and many environmental topics. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical and environmental engineering from the University of California, Irvine; a master’s degree in business administration; and a Ph.D. in public administration, specializing in policy analysis, from the American University. Before coming to the National Academies, Dr. Stine was a mathematician for the U.S. Air Force, an air-pollution engineer for the state of Texas, and an air-issues manager for the Chemical Manufacturers Association.

LAUREL HAAK (Program Officer) is a program officer for the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy (COSEPUP). She received a B.S. and an M.S. in biology from Stanford University. She was the recipient of a predoctoral National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Research Service Award and received a Ph.D. in neuroscience in 1997 from Stanford University Medical School, where her research focused on calcium signaling and circadian rhythms. She was awarded a National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Research associateship to work at NIH on intracellular calcium dynamics in oligodendrocytes. After working at NIH, she joined the staff at the American Association for the Advancement of Science and was editor of Science’s Next Wave Postdoc Network. While a postdoctoral scholar, she was editor of the Women in Neuroscience newsletter, and she is now president of this organization. She has served on the Society for Neuroscience Committee for the Development of Women’s Careers in Neuroscience and the Biophysics Society Early Careers Committee, and she was an adviser and mentor for the National Postdoctoral Association.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement