Dr. Aeppli was a senior research scientist with the NEC Research Institute in Princeton and a former Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories. He received his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1983. His research interests are in the application of neutron scattering techniques to the investigation of magnetism, superconductivity, and micro-magnetism. More recently he has turned his attention to quantum information processing and medical diagnostics, both of which exploit micro- and nano-technology. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, was a corecipient of the 2003 International Magnetism/Neel prize, and serves on numerous national and international review committees, including the DOE Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee’s Subcommittee on Pulsed Spallation Source Upgrades. Dr. Aeppli has pioneered accelerator- and reactor-based neutron scattering techniques to measure magnetic excitations in solids. He was a member of the NRC committee the wrote the decadal survey of condensed matter and materials physics and served on the Solid State Sciences Committee.

Meigan Aronson is a professor of physics and associate dean for natural sciences at the University of Michigan. She is also asssociate director of the Michigan Electron Microbeam Analysis Laboratory, a user facility for the university research community. Dr. Aronson earned a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in 1988. Her research is on quantum phase transitions, phase behaviors of low-density metals, and novel magnetism. Her research focuses on the exploration of magnetism in metals and the properties of the electron gas at low densities, where strong and unscreened Coulomb interactions are expected to lead to unusual types of charge and spin order, especially in very large magnetic fields. Her group uses neutron scattering as well as a variety of transport, magnetic, and thermal measurements to probe the ground state and its excitations at low temperatures, high magnetic fields (up to 60 T), and pressures as great as 200,000 atm. Dr. Aronson is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Paul M. Chaikin is the Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics at Princeton University and a faculty member at the Princeton Materials Institute. Dr. Chaikin, who received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Pennsylvania, is coauthor of Principles of Condensed Matter Physics, a definitive book on this subject. His experimental investigations in hard condensed matter (quantum electronic physics and low-temperature physics) and soft condensed matter (statistical mechanics of phase transitions, colloids, polymers, hydrodynamics) and at the interface often use physics and techniques from one subfield in the other. He is particularly interested in the effects of dimensionality, Coulomb correlation, and disorder in condensed-matter systems, spin-density-wave states and superconductivity in organic metals,

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement