Quality of life


NAGI Classification


Disability is a function of the interaction of the individual with his or her social and physical environments


Is affected by individual and environmental factors


Was presented in 1991 by IOM


Activities of Daily Living (ADL)


Measures basic tasks of everyday living


Is used as a predictor of admission to nursing homes and hospitals


Lots of variation, depending on which items are measured and how a disabling condition is classified


SF-12, SF-36, and SF-54


Measure changes in quality of life, mental health, pain, and social function


Reflect the individual’s perceptions and preferences about physical, emotional, and social well-being


Hard to detect changes in quality of life over time


Questions about walking can be construed as offensive to individuals with SCI


Assessment of Life Habits Scale


Assesses social participation


Relates accomplishments of daily habits from personal factors and environmental factors


Satisfaction with Life Scale (SWLS)


Consists of five items that are completed by the patient


Can assess life satisfaction in a particular domain of life (e.g., work or family) or globally


Is based on the individual’s emotions


International Classification of Impairment, Disabilities, and Handicaps (ICIDH)


Was designed by the World Health Organization to classify the consequences of disease and their implications on the patient’s life


Defines impairment, disabilities, and handicaps


ICIDH-2 incorporates disability as a dynamic process and holds that environmental factors can influence the impairment


Craig Handicap Assessment and Reporting Technique (CHART)


Is based on the World Health Organization model of handicap dimensions


Uses 27 questions and a 5-point scale to look at physical independence, economic self-sufficiency, social integration, mobility, and occupational functioning


Needs Assessment Checklist (NAC)


Is used as a rehabilitation outcome measure designed specifically for spinal cord injury population


Uses a 4-point scale


Consists of 199 behavioral indicators that assess patient achievement in nine categories required for maintenance of health and quality of living


Is not subject to floor or ceiling effects

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement