erations, HQ and as Director for Strategic Plans and Policy. He was recently Director/President of the Second Chance Foundation.

Christopher Chyba is Co-Director of Stanford's Center for International Security and Cooperation, and Associate Professor in the Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences. He served on the national security staff of the White House from 1993 to 1995.

Stephen P. Cohen is a Senior Fellow in the Foreign Policy Studies program of the Brookings Institution. Prior to joining Brookings, he was a Professor of History and Political Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Director of its Program in Arms Control, Disarmament, and International Security.

Susan Eisenhower is President of the Eisenhower Institute. Formerly Chairman and co-founder of the Center for Political and Strategic Studies (CPSS), she joined the Institute as CEO when the two organizations combined programs.

Steve Fetter, Study Co-Chair, is a Professor in the School of Public Affairs at the University of Maryland. A physicist, he was a special assistant to the Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Policy, and a Council on Foreign Relations fellow at the State Department.

Alexander H. Flax (NAE) is President Emeritus of the Institute for Defense Analyses and former Home Secretary of the National Academy of Engineering. From 1964-69 he was Assistant Secretary for Research and Development of the Department of the Air Force.

Richard L. Garwin (NAS, NAE, IOM) is IBM Fellow Emeritus of the Thomas J. Watson Research Center of the IBM Corporation. He served the President's Science Advisory Committee as both a consultant and a member and was chair of the State Department’s Arms Control and Nonproliferation Advisory Board and its predecessors from 1992 to 2001.

Rose Gottemoeller is a Senior Associate at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, specializing in arms control, nonproliferation and nuclear security issues. From 1998 to 2000, she served in the Department of Energy as Assistant Secretary for

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement