strate the impact of the aging population on future dental caries and periodontal disease patterns.

Marjorie K. Jeffcoat, D.M.D., is Dean and Professor of Periodontics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine. Dr. Jeffcoat is the school’s first woman dean and the eleventh in its 125-year history. Prior to her appointment with Penn Dental in July 2003, Dr. Jeffcoat served as Assistant Dean of Research and Professor and Chair of the Department of Periodontics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry. A 1976 graduate of the Harvard School of Dental Medicine, Dr. Jeffcoat also taught periodontology there for 10 years. Among her national committee posts, Dr. Jeffcoat is currently a member of the National Institutes of Health-NIDCR Advisory Committee for Research on Women’s Health, the National Institutes for Dental Research National Advisory Committee, and the American Academy of Periodontology Clinical Trials Committee, the Academy of Osseointegration Board of Directors, and the International Association for Dental Research Board of Directors. In addition, Dr. Jeffcoat is president of the Academy of Osseointegration and a past president of both the American Association for Dental Research and the International Association for Dental Research. Dr. Jeffcoat also serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Periodontology, the Current Opinion in Dentistry, and the Journal of Periodontal Research, and from 2001–2004, was editor of the Journal of the American Dental Association.


Ada Hinshaw Ph.D., (Panel Chair), (IOM), is a nationally recognized contributor to nursing research, and is Dean and Professor at the University of Michigan School of Nursing. Before coming to the University of Michigan, Dr. Hinshaw was the first permanent director of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland. Dr. Hinshaw led the Institute in its support of valuable research and training in many areas of nursing science, such as disease prevention, health promotion, acute and chronic illness, and the environments that enhance nursing care patient outcomes. Her current research involves an anticipated turnover study for nursing staff and the validity of ratio scales for subjective nursing concepts. From 1975 to 1987, Dr. Hinshaw served as Director of Research and Professor at the University of Arizona College of Nursing in Tucson, and as Director of Nursing Research at the University Medical Center’s Department of Nursing. She has also held faculty positions at the University of California, San Francisco, and the University of Kansas. Dr. Hinshaw received her Ph.D. and M.A. in Sociology from the University of Arizona, an MSN from Yale University, and a B.S. from the University of Kansas. Her major fields of study included maternal-newborn health, clinical nursing and nursing administration, and instrument development and testing. She was Vice Chair of the Keeping Patients Safe: Transforming the Work Environment of Nurses IOM Committee on the Patient Safety Board on Health Care Services. Dr. Hinshaw currently serves on the 2003 Institute of Medicine Council and has been a member of the Institute of Medicine since 1989.

Sue Karen Donaldson, Ph.D., (IOM) is a Professor of Physiology at The John Hopkins University School of Medicine and is Dean and Professor of Nursing at the School of Nursing. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Washington and her MSN from Wayne State University. Her areas of scholarly expertise and interest are biophysics, physiology and muskuloskeletal diseases. Dr. Donaldson has been a member of the Institute of Medicine since 1993.

Margaret McLean Heitkemper, R.N., Ph.D., FAAN is Chairperson, Department of Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, School of Nursing, Corbally Professor in Public Service, and Adjunct Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, School of Medicine, University of Washington. She is also Director of the NIH/NINR-funded Center for Women’s Health and Gender Research at the University of Washington and Director of an NCCAM supported Educational Program. Dr. Heitkemper received her BSN in 1973 from Seattle University, her MN in gerontological nursing from the University of Washington in 1975, and her Ph.D. in Physiology and Biophysics from the University of Illinois in 1981. Her research related to women’s health, stress, and gastrointestinal function has been continuously funded by NIH since 1983. She is the author of two nursing textbooks and approximately 100 data-based papers. In 2003, Dr. Heitkemper received the AGA/Janssen award for research in gastroenterology.

Marla Salmon, Ph.D., (IOM) is Dean and Professor of the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, and Director of the Lillian Carter Center for International Nursing, at Emory University. She formerly served as Director of the Division of Nursing for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and as Chair of the Global Advisory Group on Nursing and Midwifery for the World Health Organization. Dr. Salmon’s research interests have included health policy, administration, and national and international health workforce development, with particular emphasis on the importance of nursing and public health. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine, member of the Board of Trustees of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the Board of Directors of the National Center for Healthcare Leadership and is both nationally and internationally recognized for her contributions to health policies influencing health care delivery systems. Dr. Salmon is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing and has received numerous awards, including the Presidential Meritorious Executive Award and the U.S. Public Health Special Service Award.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement