modified the criteria for determining eligibility for compensation. The Department of Justice (DOJ) administers RECA as codified by 28 CFR 79.

The RECA of 2000 also amended Subpart I of Part C of Title IV of the Public Health Service Act to add Section 417C—grants for education, prevention of, and early detection of radiogenic cancers and nonradiogenic diseases. Section 417C provides the authority for competitive grants to states, local governments, and appropriate health-care organizations to initiate and support programs for health screening, education, medical referral, and appropriate followup services for persons eligible under RECA. Persons eligible for those programs are categorized by the nature of their exposure to radiation as defined by 42 USC 2210 note and Public Law 106-245, the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act Amendment of 2000, Sections 4(a)(1)(A)(i) and 5(a)(1)(A), and in 28 CFR Part 79. The categories are uranium miners, uranium millers, ore transporters, certain downwinders, and onsite nuclear-test participants. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the Department of Health and Human Services administers the grants as part of the Radiation Exposure Screening and Education Program (RESEP).

In response to a congressional mandate (Public Law 107-206), HRSA asked the National Research Council’s Board on Radiation Effects Research to convene a committee to assess the recent biologic, epidemiologic, and related scientific evidence associating radiation exposure with cancers or other human health effects. The committee was asked to consider the issues surrounding the implementation of RECA and to make recommendations on the basis of scientific knowledge and principles. The study began in September 2002.

The following statement of work describes the task set before the committee (HR 107-593):

On the basis of its information, the committee will make recommendations to HRSA regarding:

A. technical assistance to HRSA and its grantees on improving accessibility and quality of medical screening, education, and referral services;

B. the most recent scientific information related to radiation exposure and associated cancers or other diseases, with recommendations for improving services for exposed persons; and

C. whether other groups of people or additional geographic areas should be covered under the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (RECA) program.

The committee considered whether additional geographic areas should be added to the previously defined areas2 on the basis that residents had been simi-


The areas previously designated for compensation were: the Utah counties of Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Millard, Piute, San Juan, Sevier, Washington, and Wayne; the Nevada counties of Eureka, Lander, Lincoln, Nye, and White Pine and the portion of Clark County that consists of townships 13-16 at ranges 63-71; and the Arizona counties of Apache, Coconino, Gila, Navajo, and Yavapai and the part of Arizona that is north of the Grand Canyon.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement