National Laboratory. He is a member of the American Physical Society, the Radiation Research Society, and the Health Physics Society, which he recently served on the Board of Directors. Dr. Borak is currently serving on the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements and is certified by the American Board of Health Physics. He has been a consultant to the governor of Colorado on low-level radioactive-waste management and nuclear criticality safety. Dr. Borak was also a member of the BRER Committee on Risk Assessment of Exposure to Radon in Drinking Water (1999).

Catherine Borbas, PhD, MPH, is executive director of the Healthcare Evaluation and Research Foundation in St. Paul, Minnesota. Prior committee memberships include the Committee on Methods for Setting Priorities for Guidelines for the Division of Health Care Services of the Institute of Medicine and the Committee to Review the NCI report on the Exposure of the American People to Iodine-131. Dr. Borbas has published in clinical-guidelines implementation and methods to influence clinical behavior. She earned her PhD in social work and a master’s degree in public health from the University of Minnesota.

A. Bertrand Brill, MD, PhD, is a research professor in the Departments of Radiology and Physics at Vanderbilt University. Dr. Brill earned his MD at the University of Utah and his PhD in Biophysics at the University of California, Berkeley. He served in the US Public Health Service (PHS) in Japan at the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission (ABCC) from 1957 to 1959 and as the PHS representative to ABCC until 1964. Dr. Brill’s specialty is nuclear medicine, and his major research is in cancer imaging, radiation leukemogenesis, effects of radiation on thyroid function, and effects of diagnostic radioisotope studies, particularly iodine-131. He is a member of the National Cancer Institute-Columbia University Task Group doing a followup study of thyroid disease after the Chornobyl accident. He is a member of the Society of Nuclear Medicine Radiation Effects Committee, the Medical Internal Radiation Dose Committee (MIRD), and the American Thyroid Association. Dr. Brill served as a member of the National Research Council Committees on Atomic Casualties, the BEIR III committee, and the Committee on Assessment of Centers of Disease Control and Prevention Radiation Studies from DOE Contractor Sites.

Thomas Buhl, PhD, CHP, serves as chief scientist for the Health, Safety, and Radiation Protection Division of the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). He has been a health physicist in the LANL radiation protection program since 1980, working in radiation-instrumentation development, in vivo bioassay measurements, environmental surveillance, dose assessment, and nuclear-accident dosimetry. He has been an adjunct professor in nuclear engineering at the University of New Mexico since 1994. He served as president of the American Academy of Health Physics (2004) and chair of the American Board of Health

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement