Region 10


Case-by-Case Authorization

Restricted/Exclusion Areas

Special Considerations



majority of the waters within this section, with the exception of tanker lanes and an appropriate buffer zone to either side of these lanes;

6) Hinchinbrook Entrance: The area around Seal Rocks;

7) Copper River Delta: Inshore of the 3-mile territorial limit along the coast from Cape Hinchinbrook to Kayak Island;

8) Montague Island: Inshore of a line drawn approximately 1 nm off the outside coasts of Montague and Elrington Islands and extending east to Cape Junken.

remaining area is “Case-by-Case”

3) Please refer to Alaska’s Dispersant Use Policy for more in-depth guidelines concerning Cook Inlet and Prince William Sound.



Case-by-Case Authorization





1) Water depths greater than 10 fathoms, with the exception of the Maui County four-island area bounded by La’au Point, Molokai to Kaena Point, Lanai; Kamaiki Point, Lanai to Cape Kuikui, Kahoolawe; Cape Kuikui, Kahoolawe to Cape Hanamanioa, Maui; and Lipoa Point, Maui to Cape Halawa, Molokai.

1) In any case where circumstances do not meet the guidelines, use of dispersants is subject to case-by-case authorization.

American Samoa


1) Any applications of dispersants within the American Samoa AOR must be authorized by the Oceania Regional Response Team.

1Reference 33 CFR 2.05-10 for the definition of Territorial Sea Baseline.

SOURCE: Categorized by National Response Team Region; U.S. Coast Guard,

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement