rials and on the application of new materials to automotive structures. His management responsibilities at Ford covered a wide area of research activities relative to the automotive industry, including materials, environmental chemistry, sensor technologies, automotive catalyst development, and the application of modern analytical techniques. He is a member of the American Society for Materials (ASM), The Metallurgical Society (TMS) of AIME, and the Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD). He was elected a fellow of ASM in 1989 and a fellow of ESD in 1991. In 1992, he was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He holds a B.Met. in metallurgy from the University of Sheffield and a Ph.D. in metallurgy from the University of Liverpool.

David L. Bodde serves as a professor and senior fellow at Clemson University. There, he directs innovation and policy at the International Center for Automotive Research. Prior to joining Clemson University, Dr. Bodde held the Charles N. Kimball Chair in Technology and Innovation at the University of Missouri in Kansas City. Dr. Bodde serves on the board of directors of several energy and technology companies, including Great Plains Energy, the Commerce Funds, and EPRI Solutions. His executive experience includes vice president, Midwest Research Institute; assistant director of the Congressional Budget Office; and deputy assistant secretary in the U.S. Department of Energy. He is a member of the NRC’s Board on Energy and Environmental Systems and recently served on the Committee on Alternatives and Strategies for Future Hydrogen Production and Use. He was once a soldier and served in the Army in Vietnam. He has a doctorate in business administration from Harvard University, M.S. degrees in nuclear engineering (1972) and management (1973), and a B.S. from the United States Military Academy.

Glenn A. Eisman is director of the Center for Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Research and professor of materials science and engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Dr. Eisman is also principal partner of Eisman Technology Consultants, LLC. His previous positions include chief technology officer, Plug Power, Inc.; technical leader, The Advanced Materials Program, Central Research and New Businesses, Dow Chemical Company; and project leader, discovery research R&D and inorganic chemical research, Dow Chemical Company. Dr. Eisman has extensive experience in R&D and product development for fuel cells, hydrogen technologies, electrochemical engineering, physical and inorganic solid state chemistry, and new technology commercialization and business development. He received the Inventor of the Year Award from Dow Chemical Co. (1993) and is a member of the Electrochemical Society. He received a B.S. in chemistry from Temple University and a Ph.D. in physical inorganic chemistry from Northeastern University.

David Foster is the Phil and Jean Myers Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Wisconsin, where he has been a faculty member since comple-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement