Cover Image

Not for Sale



View/Hide Left Panel

THE ROLE OF SCIENCE IN SOLVING THE EARTHS EMERGING WATER PROBLEMS

Participant Roster

Bruce Alberts

President

National Academy of Sciences

500 Fifth Street NW

Washington, DC 20001

Phone: (202) 334-2100

Fax: (202) 334-1647

E-mail: balberts@nas.edu


Richelle Allen-King

Associate Professor

University at Buffalo (SUNY)

NSC876

Buffalo, NY 14260

Phone: (716) 645-6800 x3963

Fax: (716) 645-3999

E-mail richelle@buffalo.edu


William Alley

U.S. Geological Survey

5735 Kearny Road, Suite 0

San Diego, CA 92123

Phone: (858) 637-6825

Fax: (858) 637-9201

E-mail: walley@usgs.gov


Chris Amhrein

Professor

University of California, Riverside

Department of Environmental Science

Riverside, CA 92521

Phone: (951) 827-5196

Fax: (951) 827-3993

E-mail: amrhein@ucr.edu


Hun-Kyun Bae

University of California, Irvine

5251 California Avenue, Suite 250

Irvine, CA 92612

Phone: (949) 824-9350

Fax: (949) 824-8831

E-mail: baeh@uci.edu


Barbara Bedford

Senior Research Associate

Cornell University

Department of Natural Resources

121 Fernow Hall

Ithaca, NY 14853

Phone: (607) 255-2014

Fax: (607) 255-0349

E-mail: blb4@cornell.edu


Wayne R. Bidlack

Dean

College of Agriculture

California State Polytechnic University

3801 W. Temple Avenue

Pomona, CA 91768

Phone: (909) 869-2201

Fax: (909) 869-4074

E-mail: smroth@csupomona.edu


Barbara Bradley

University of California, Irvine

1704 Summit Drive

Escondido, CA 92027

Phone: (760) 500-2849

Fax: (760) 743-3306

E-mail: bbradley@uci.edu


Kate Brauman

Stanford University

Interdisciplinary Program in Enviroment and Resources

334 Olmsted Road, Apt. 5447

Stanford, CA 94305

Phone: (650) 380-0387

E-mail: kbrauman@stanford.edu



The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems THE ROLE OF SCIENCE IN SOLVING THE EARTH’S EMERGING WATER PROBLEMS Participant Roster Bruce Alberts President National Academy of Sciences 500 Fifth Street NW Washington, DC 20001 Phone: (202) 334-2100 Fax: (202) 334-1647 E-mail: balberts@nas.edu Richelle Allen-King Associate Professor University at Buffalo (SUNY) NSC876 Buffalo, NY 14260 Phone: (716) 645-6800 x3963 Fax: (716) 645-3999 E-mail richelle@buffalo.edu William Alley U.S. Geological Survey 5735 Kearny Road, Suite 0 San Diego, CA 92123 Phone: (858) 637-6825 Fax: (858) 637-9201 E-mail: walley@usgs.gov Chris Amhrein Professor University of California, Riverside Department of Environmental Science Riverside, CA 92521 Phone: (951) 827-5196 Fax: (951) 827-3993 E-mail: amrhein@ucr.edu Hun-Kyun Bae University of California, Irvine 5251 California Avenue, Suite 250 Irvine, CA 92612 Phone: (949) 824-9350 Fax: (949) 824-8831 E-mail: baeh@uci.edu Barbara Bedford Senior Research Associate Cornell University Department of Natural Resources 121 Fernow Hall Ithaca, NY 14853 Phone: (607) 255-2014 Fax: (607) 255-0349 E-mail: blb4@cornell.edu Wayne R. Bidlack Dean College of Agriculture California State Polytechnic University 3801 W. Temple Avenue Pomona, CA 91768 Phone: (909) 869-2201 Fax: (909) 869-4074 E-mail: smroth@csupomona.edu Barbara Bradley University of California, Irvine 1704 Summit Drive Escondido, CA 92027 Phone: (760) 500-2849 Fax: (760) 743-3306 E-mail: bbradley@uci.edu Kate Brauman Stanford University Interdisciplinary Program in Enviroment and Resources 334 Olmsted Road, Apt. 5447 Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 380-0387 E-mail: kbrauman@stanford.edu

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems Patrick L. Brezonik Professor and Fesler-Lampert Chair of Urban and Regional Affairs University of Minnesota Department of Civil Engineering 500 Pillsbury Drive, SE St. Paul, MN 55455 Phone: (612) 625-0866 Fax: (612) 626-1263 E-mail: brezonik@umn.edu Kate Campbell California Institute of Technology 1200 E. California Boulevard, MC138-78 Pasadena, CA 91125 Phone: (626) 395-4435 Fax: (626) 395-2940 E-mail: katec@caltech.edu Michael T. Clegg Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences University of California, Irvine Department of Ecology and Evolution 485 Steinhaus Hall Irvine, CA 92697 Phone: (949) 824-4490 Fax: (949) 824-2181 E-mail: mclegg@uci.edu Jon Cohen Contributing Editor Science 1200 New York Avenue NW Washington, DC 20005 Gayle Dana Interim Director Center for Watersheds and Environmental Sustainability Desert Research Institute 2215 Raggio Parkway Reno, NV Phone: (775) 674-7538 Fax: (775) 673-7363 E-mail: gayle.dana@dri.edu Michael Dettinger U.S. Geological Survey and Climate Research Division Scripps Institute of Oceanography UC San Diego 9500 Gilman Drive La Jolla, CA 92093-0224 Phone: (858) 822-1507 Fax: (858) 534-8561 E-mail: dettinge@meteora.ucsd.edu Mary Doyle Professor University of Florida 1311 Miller Drive Coral Gables, FL 33124 Phone: (305) 284-2986 Fax: (305) 284-6619 E-mail: mdoyle@law.miami.edu John Dracup Professor University of California, Berkeley 760 Davis Hall Berkeley, CA 94720-1716 Phone: (510) 643-4306 Fax: (510) 643-4307 E-mail: dracup@ce.berkeley.edu Richard Evans Sinclair-Knight-Mertz PO Box 2500 Malvern Victoria 3144 Australia Phone: 61 3 9248 3369 Fax: 61 3 9248 3364 E-mail: revans@skm.com.au Malin Falkenmark Senior Scientist Stockholm International Water Institute Hantverkargatan 5 112 21 Stockholm Sweden Phone: 46 8 522 139 60 Fax: 46 8 522 139 61 E-mail: malin.falkenmark@siwi.org Jay Familigietti University of California, Irvine Irvine, CA Phone: (949) 924-9434 E-mail: jfamigli@uci.edu

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems Elias Fereres Castiel University of Cordoba Alameda del Obispo s/n Cordoba 14004 Spain Phone: 34-957-499264 Fax: 34-957-499252 E-mail: ag1fecae@uco.es Megan Ferguson California Institute of Technology 1200 E. California Boulevard, MC138-78 Pasadena, CA 91125 Phone: (626) 395-4393 Fax: (626) 395-2940 E-mail: knight@its.caltech.edu Kristie J. Franz University of California, Irvine Irvine, CA 92697-8851 Phone: (949) 824-9350 Fax: (949) 824-8851 E-mail: franzk@ucr.edu Ken Fulton Executive Director National Acaemy of Sciences 500 Fifth Street NW Washington, DC 20001 Phone: (202) 334-2446 E-mail: kfulton@nas.edu William Graf Education Foundation University Professor and Professor of Geography University of South Carolina Columbia, SC 29208 Phone: (803) 777-4437 Fax: (803) 777-4972 E-mail: graf@sc.edu Janet Hering Professor California Institute of Technology 1200 E. California Boulevard (138-78) Pasadena, CA 91125 Phone: (626) 395-3644 Fax: (626) 395-2940 E-mail: jhering@caltech.edu Slav Hermanowicz Professor University of California, Berkeley Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Berkeley, CA 94720-1710 Phone: (510) 642-0151 E-mail: hermanowicz@ce.berkeley.edu Hugo Hidalgo Post-Graduate Researcher Scripps Institute of Oceanography 9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0224 La Jolla, CA 92093 Phone: (858) 822-4459 Fax: (858) 534-8561 E-mail: hhidalgo@ucsd.edu Erik M.V. Hoek Assistant Professor University of California, Los Angeles Civil and Environmental Engineering Department 5732G Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 206-5735 Fax: (310) 206-2222 E-mail: hoek@seas.ucla.edu Jeff Hoffmann Engineer United States Department of Energy 626 Cochrans Mill Road PO Box 10940 Pittsburg, PA 15236 Phone: (412) 386-5134 Fax: (412) 386-4561 E-mail: jeffrey.hoffman@netl.doe.gov William Horak Chair Energy Sciences and Technology Department Brookhaven National Laboratory 12 S. Upton Road, Building 475B Upton, NY 11973 Phone: (631) 344-2627 Fax: (631) 344-7650 E-mail: horak@bnl.gov

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems Helen Ingram Professor of Planning, Policy, and Design and Political Science, and Drew, Chace and Erin Warmington Chair in the Social Ecology of Peace and International Cooperation University of California, Irvine Irvine, CA 92617 Phone: (949) 824-1434 Fax: E-mail: hingram@uci.edu Faud Ishale University of California, Irvine 4922 Verano Place Irvine, CA 92617 Phone: (520) 248-0728 E-mail: fishakbo@uci.edu Hiroshi Ishidair Visiting Research Associate University of California, Irvine E/4130 Engineering Gateway Irvine, CA 92697-2175 Phone: (949) 824-8824 Fax: (949) 824-8831 E-mail: hishidai@uci.edu William A. Jury Distinguished Professor of Soil Physics University of California, Riverside Department of Environmental Sciences 2208 Geology Building Riverside, CA 92521 Phone: (909) 787-5134 Fax: (909) 787-2954 E-mail: wajury@mail.ucr.edu James Leckie Professor Stanford University Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 723-2524 Fax: (650) 725-3164 E-mail: leckie@stanford.edu Raul Lejano Assistant Professor University of California, Irvine Department of Planning, Policy & Design Irvine, CA Phone: (949) 824-9825 E-mail: lejano@uci.edu Dennis Lettenmaier University of Washington Seattle, WA Phone: (206) 543-2532 Fax: (206) 685-3836 E-mail: dennisl@u.washington.edu William Lewis Professor and Director Center for Limnology, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmetal Sciences University of Colorado 216 UCB Boulder, CO 80309 Phone: (303) 492-6378 Fax: (303) 492-1149 E-mail: william.lewis@colorado.edu Linda Lilienfeld Researcher - Watershed Media Project NEETF 2231 California Street NW Washington, DC 20008 Phone: (202) 234-1948 Fax: (202) 265-1045 E-mail: ezra@neetf.og Kris Lindstrom President K.P. Lindstrom, Inc. PO Box 57008 Pacific Grove, CA 93950 Phone: (831) 372-5989 Fax: (831) 372-6168 E-mail: kplinc@redshift.com Ronald B. Linsky Executive Director National Water Research Institute 10500 Ellis Avenue PO Box 20865 Fountain Valley, CA 92728-0865 Phone: (714) 378-3278 Fax: (714) 378-3375 E-mail: rlinsky@nwri-usa.org Trina Mackie University of California, Berkeley 2608 Sacramento Street, Apartment B Berkeley, CA 94702 Phone: (510) 540-7262 E-mail: tmackie@berkeley.edu

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems Richard Martin Program Manager U.S. Bureau of Reclamation PO Box 25007-D5000 Denver, CO 80225 Phone: (303) 445-3710 Fax: (303) 445-6464 E-mail: rmartin@do.usbr.gov Stephen McCaffrey University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law 3200 Fifth Avenue Sacramento, CA 95817 Phone: (916) 739-7179 Fax: (916) 739-7111 E-mail: smccaffrey@pacific.edu Stacy McCoy 418 North Armistead Street #T-3 Alexandria, VA 22312 Phone: (202) 549-6438 E-mail: smccoy77@hotmail.com Sue McCullough-Sanden Teacher Rosedale Middle School 10209 Allene Way Bakersfield, CA Phone: (661) 588-6030 E-mail: smccullo@rosedale.k12.ca.us Claire McGrath University of Colorado Center for Limnology CIRES, CB216 Boulder, CO 80303-0216 Phone: (303) 492-2776 Fax: (303) 492-0928 E-mail: claire.mcgrath@colorado.edu James E. McMahon Head, Energy Analysis Department and Co-chair, Water Energy Technology Team Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 1 Cyclotron Road MS 90R4000 Berkeley, CA Phone: (510) 486-6049 Fax: (510) 486-6996 E-mail: jemcmahon@lbl.gov Robin Newmark Program Leader Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory 7000 East Avenue, L-640 Livermore, CA 94550 Phone: (925) 423-3644 Fax: (925) 423-0153 E-mail: newmarkl@llnl.gov Charles O’Melia Professor and Chair Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD 21218 Phone: (410) 516-7102 Fax: (410) 516-8996 E-mail: omelia@jhu.edu Alessandro Palmieri Leading Dam Specialist The World Bank Quality Assurance and Compliance Unit Unit Environmentally & Socially Sustainable Development Unit Environmentally & Socially Sustainable Development Unit 1818 H Street NW Washington, DC 20433 Phone: (202) 473-1000 Fax: (202) 477-6391 E-mail: apalmieri@worldbank.org Gi-Hyeon Park University of California, Irvine 5251 California Avenue, Suite 250 Irvine, CA 92612 Phone: (949) 246-5846 Fax: (949) 824-8831 E-mail: gihyeonp@uci.edu Marty Perreault Program Director National Academies Keck Futures Initiative 5251 California Avenue – Suite 230 Irvine, CA 92617 Phone : (949) 387-5783 Fax : (949) 387-0500 E-mail : mperreault@nas.edu

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems Linh Pham Stanford University IPER - Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources Room 158, Mitchell Building Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 353-1390 E-mail: linhpham@stanford.edu Elizabeth Richards Stanford University IPER - Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources 397 Panama Mall Stanford, CA 94305-2210 Phone: (505) 844-6951 E-mail: beth.richards@stanford.edu Frank Rijsberman International Water Management Institute World Water Vision Management Unit P. O. Box 2075 Colombo Sri Lanka Phone: 94-11 2787404, 2784080 Fax: 94-11 2786854 E-mail: f.rijsberman@cgiar.org Tom Rossi Loma Linda University 601 Lytle St. Redlands, CA 92374 Phone: (909) 793-0808 E-mail: rossihockey@yahoo.com Blake Sanden Irrigation and Agronomy Advisor University of California Cooperative Extension 1031 S. Mt. Vernon Avenue Bakersfield, CA 93307 Phone: (661) 868-6218 Fax: (661) 868-6208 E-mail: blsanden@ucdavis.edu Michael Shulters California District Chief U.S. Geological Survey 6000 T Street, Placer Hall Sacramento, CA 95819 Phone: (916) 278-3026 Fax: (916) 278-3231 E-mail: shulters@usgs.gov Richard Skaggs Senior Program Manager Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 902 Batelle Boulevard Richland, WA 99352 Phone: (509) 375-5900 Fax: (509) 375-3822 E-mail: richard.skaggs@pnl.gov Soroosh Sorooshian Distinguished Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth System Science University of California, Irvine E/4130 Engineering Gateway Irvine, CA 92697 Phone: (949) 824-8825 Fax: (949) 824-8831 E-mail: soroosh@uci.edu Rhodes Trussell President Trussell Technologies, Inc. 939 East Walnut Street Suite 300 Pasadena, CA 91106-1775 Phone: (626) 486-0560 Ext. 102 Fax: (626) 486-0571 E-mail: rhodes.trussell@trusselltech.com Jane Valentine Associate Professor University of California, Los Angeles School of Public Health 10833 LeConte Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 825-8751 Fax: (310) 825-8440 E-mail: jlvalentin@aol.com Henry Vaux University of California, Berkeley Department of Agriculture and Resource Economics 324 Giannini Hall Berkeley, CA 94720 Phone: (510) 642-0262 E-mail: vaux@are.berkeley.edu

OCR for page 27
The Role of Science in Solving the Earth’s Emerging Water Problems Zhi Wang Assistant Professor California State University, Fresno 2345 E. San Raman Avenue, MH24 Fresno, CA 93740 Phone: (559) 278-4427 Fax: (559) 278-5980 E-mail: zwang@csufresno.edu Justin Warren Stanford University 736 Essendale Road #341 Stanford, CA Phone: (760) 604-1367 Fax: (760) 725-4139 E-mail: cyperus@stanford.edu Tracy Wise University of California, Berkeley Civil and Environmental Engineering Department 2108 Shattuck Avenue Berkeley, CA 94720-1716 Phone: (510) 642-7394 Fax: (510) 643-4307 E-mail: twise@ce.berkeley.edu Laosheng Wu Associate Professor University of California, Riverside Department of Environmental Science Riverside, CA 92521 Phone: (951) 827-4664 E-mail: laowu@mail.ucr.edu Alexander Zehnder President Board of the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (ETH Board) ETH Zentrum Zurich CH - 8092 Switzerland Phone: 41-44-632 75 78 Fax: 41-44-632 11 90 E-mail: alexander.zehnder@ethrat.ch