Cover Image

PAPERBACK
$18.00



View/Hide Left Panel

FRONTIERS OF BIOINFORMATICS: UNSOLVED PROBLEMS AND CHALLENGES

Participant Roster

Bruce Alberts

President

National Academy of Sciences

500 Fifth Street NW

Washington, DC 20001

Phone: (202) 334-2100

Fax: (202) 334-1647

E-mail: balberts@nas.edu


Russ Altman

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Stanford University

Section on Medical Informatics

251 Campus Drive

MSOB X-215

Stanford, CA 94305

Phone: (650) 725-3394

Fax: (650) 725-7944

E-mail: russ.altman@stanford.edu


Chitta Baral

Professor

Arizona State University

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

699 S. Mill Avenue

Tempe, AZ 85281

Phone: (480) 727-6047

Fax: (480) 965-2751

E-mail: chitta@asu.edu


Helen Berman

Professor

Rutgers University

Department of Chemistry

Wright-Reiman Labs

610 Taylor Road

Piscataway, NJ 08854

Phone: (732) 445-4667

Fax: (732) 445-4320

E-mail: berman@rcsb.rutgers.edu


Peter Bickel

Professor of Statistics

University of California, Berkeley

Evans Hall

Berkeley, CA 94720

Phone: (510) 642-1381

Fax: (510) 642-7892

E-mail: bickel@stat.berkeley.edu


Peer Bork

European Molecular Biology Laboratory

Meyerhofstrasse 1

Heidelberg

Germany

Phone: 49 [0] 6221 3870

Fax: 49 [0] 6221 3878306

E-mail: bork@embl-heidelberg.de


Serdar Bozdag

University of California, Riverside

3131 Watkins Drive

Apartment 231

Riverside, CA 92507

Phone: (951) 276-0470

E-mail: sbozdag@cs.ucr.edu


Volker Brendel

Bergdahl Professor of Bioinformatics

Iowa State University

Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology and Department of Statistics

2112 Molecular Biology Building

Ames, IA 50011-3260

Phone: (515) 294-9884

Fax: (515) 294-6755

E-mail: vbrendel@iastate.edu



The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges FRONTIERS OF BIOINFORMATICS: UNSOLVED PROBLEMS AND CHALLENGES Participant Roster Bruce Alberts President National Academy of Sciences 500 Fifth Street NW Washington, DC 20001 Phone: (202) 334-2100 Fax: (202) 334-1647 E-mail: balberts@nas.edu Russ Altman Assistant Professor of Medicine Stanford University Section on Medical Informatics 251 Campus Drive MSOB X-215 Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 725-3394 Fax: (650) 725-7944 E-mail: russ.altman@stanford.edu Chitta Baral Professor Arizona State University Department of Computer Science and Engineering 699 S. Mill Avenue Tempe, AZ 85281 Phone: (480) 727-6047 Fax: (480) 965-2751 E-mail: chitta@asu.edu Helen Berman Professor Rutgers University Department of Chemistry Wright-Reiman Labs 610 Taylor Road Piscataway, NJ 08854 Phone: (732) 445-4667 Fax: (732) 445-4320 E-mail: berman@rcsb.rutgers.edu Peter Bickel Professor of Statistics University of California, Berkeley Evans Hall Berkeley, CA 94720 Phone: (510) 642-1381 Fax: (510) 642-7892 E-mail: bickel@stat.berkeley.edu Peer Bork European Molecular Biology Laboratory Meyerhofstrasse 1 Heidelberg Germany Phone: 49 [0] 6221 3870 Fax: 49 [0] 6221 3878306 E-mail: bork@embl-heidelberg.de Serdar Bozdag University of California, Riverside 3131 Watkins Drive Apartment 231 Riverside, CA 92507 Phone: (951) 276-0470 E-mail: sbozdag@cs.ucr.edu Volker Brendel Bergdahl Professor of Bioinformatics Iowa State University Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology and Department of Statistics 2112 Molecular Biology Building Ames, IA 50011-3260 Phone: (515) 294-9884 Fax: (515) 294-6755 E-mail: vbrendel@iastate.edu

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Roy Britten Professor Emeritus California Institute of Technology 101 Dahlia Avenue Corona del Mar, CA 92625 Phone: (949) 675-2159 Fax: (949) 675-1837 E-mail: r.britten@comcast.net Christopher Burge Assistant Professor of Biology Massachusetts Institute of Technology Room 68-223A Cambridge, MA 02138 Phone: 617-258-5997 E-mail: cburge@mit.edu Huangming Chen Research Assistant III The Salk Institute 10010 North Torrey Pines Rd La Jolla, CA 92037 Phone: (858) 453-4100 E-mail: hchen@salk.edu Lamei Chen University of California, Los Angeles MBI #609 Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 794-4206 Fax: (310) 267-0248 E-mail: lchen@chem.ucla.edu Jeffrey Chuang Postdoctoral Fellow University of California, San Francisco Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics 600 16th Street San Francisco, CA 94143-2240 Phone: (415) 514-2616 Fax: (415) 514-2617 E-mail: jchuang@genome.ucsf.edu Valerie Daggett Professor of Medicinal Chemistry University of Washington H165B, Box 357610 Seattle, WA 98195-7610 Phone: (206) 685-7420 Fax: 206) 685-3252 E-mail: daggett@u.washington.edu Ryan Day University of Washington, Seattle Biomolecular Structure and Design Program Department of Medicinal Chemistry Seattle, WA 98195-7610 E-mail: rd@u.washington.edu Russell F. Doolittle Research Professor University of California, San Diego Department of Chemisry and Biochemistry 9500 Gilman Drive 2040 Urey Hall Addition La Jolla, CA 92093 Phone: (858) 534-3575 Fax: (858) 534-6255 E-mail: rd@zeus.ucsd.edu Debojyoti Dutta University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place Los Angeles, CA 90089 Phone: (213) 248-3656 Fax: (213) 740-2437 E-mail: ddutaa@usc.edu Sean Eddy Professor of Bioinformatics Washington University School of Medicine Department of Genetics 4566 Scott Avenue St. Louis, MO 63110 Phone: (314) 362-7666 E-mail: eddy@genetics.wustl.edu David Eisenberg Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Biology and Director UCLA-DOE Laboratory of Structural Biology and Molecular Medicine University of California, Los Angeles Box 951570 Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 825-3754 Fax: (310) 206-3914 E-mail: david@mbi.ucla.edu

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Iddo Friedberg The Burnham Institute 10901 North Torrey Pines Road La Jolla, CA 92037 Phone: (858) 646 3100 x3516 Fax: (858) 713 9930 E-mail: idoerg@burnham.org Terry Gaasterland Assistant Professor and Head Laboratory of Computational Geonomics The Rockefeller University 1230 York Avenue New York, NY 10021 Phone: (212) 327-7755 Fax: (212) 327-7765 E-mail: gaasterland@rockefeller.edu Mark Gerstein Principal Investigator Yale University Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Bass 432A, 266 Whitney Ave. New Haven, CT 06520 Phone: (203) 432 6105 Fax: (360) 838 7861 E-mail: mark.gerstein@yale.edu Margaret Goodman Associate Professor of Biology Wittenberg University Box 720 Springfield, OH 45501 Phone: (937) 327-6142 Fax: (937) 327-7522 E-mail: mgoodman@wittenberg.edu Phillip Green Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute University of Washington Medical School Department of Molecular Biotechnology Box 357730 (HSB K343B) 1959 Pacific Street, N.E. Seattle, WA 98195 Phone: (206) 685-4341 Fax: (206) 685-9720 E-mail: phg@u.washington.edu David Haussler Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. Director, Center for Biomolecular Science & Engineering. Professor, Computer Science Univesrity of California, Santa Cruz Center for Biomolecular Science and Engineering 321 Baskin Engineering Bldg Santa Cruz, CA 95064 Phone: (831) 459-2105 Fax: (831) 459-4829 E-mail: haussler@cse.ucsc.edu Haiyan Hu University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 202 Los Angeles, CA 90007 Phone: (213) 399-6627 E-mail: hhu@usc.edu Yu Huang University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 202 Los Angeles, CA 90089 Phone: (213) 821-3167 E-mail: yuhuang@usc.edu Steve Jacobsen University of California, Los Angeles Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology P. O. Box 951606 Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 825-0182 E-mail: jacobsen@ucla.edu Rui Jiang University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 289 Los Angeles, CA 90089 Phone: (213) 821-2229 Fax: (213) 740-2437 E-mail: ruijiang@usc.edu Jason Johnson Scientific Director Rosetta Inpharmatics 401 Terry Avenue N. Seattle, WA 98109 Phone: (206) 802-6499 Fax: (206) 802-6411 E-mail: jason_johnson@merck.com

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Samuel Karlin Professor Stanford University Department of Mathematics Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 723-2204 Fax: (650) 725-2040 E-mail: karlin@stanford.math.edu Katherina Kechris Post-doctoral Researcher University of California, San Francisco Department of Chemistry and Biophysics 600 16th Street, Room S441 San Francisco, CA 94143-2240 Phone: (415) 514-2617 Fax: (415) 514-4140 E-mail: kechris@genome.ucsf.edu Chris Lee Professor University of California, Los Angeles Molecular Biology Institute Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 825-7374 Fax: (310) 267-0248 E-mail: leec@mbi.ucla.edu Michael Levitt Professor of Structural Biology and Chair Department of Structural Biology Stanford University School of Medicine Room D109 Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 723-6800 Fax: (650) 723-8464 E-mail: michael.levitt@stanford.edu Peter Li Celera Genomics 45 W. Gude Drive Rockville, MD 20850 E-mail: lipw@celera.com Huiying Li University of California, Los Angeles Molecular Biology Institute Box 951570 Los Angeles, CA 90095-1570 Phone: (310) 825-1402 Fax: (310) 206-3914 E-mail: huiying@mbi.ucla.edu Mike Liang Stanford University 300 Pasteur Drive MC 5120 Stanford, CA 94305-5120 Phone: (650) 725-8010 Fax: (650) 725-3863 E-mail: mliang@stanford.edu Herb Lin Senior Scientist National Research Council 500 Fifth Street NW Washington, DC 20001 Phone: (202) 334-3191 Fax: (202) 334-2318 E-mail: hlin@nas.edu Shuo Liu Stanford University MSOB Room X215 251 Campus Drive Stanford, CA 94305-5479 Phone: (650) 996-7820 E-mail: sliu@smi.stanford.edu Stefano Lonardi Assistant Professor University of California Department of Computer Science and Engineering Riverside, CA 92507 Phone: (951) 827-2203 Fax: (951) 827-4693 E-mail: stelo@cs.ucr.edu Itay Lotan University of California, Berkeley Donner Lab 472 Berkeley, CA 94720 Phone: (510) 486-6284 E-mail: itayl@cs.stanford.edu Bruce A. Luxon Professor University of Texas Medical Branch 301 University Boulevard Route 1157 Galveston, TX 77555-1157 Phone: (409) 747-6876 Fax: (409) 747-6850 E-mail: bruce@nmr.utmb.edu

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Xiaotu Ma University of Southern California 1429 W. 23rd Street Los Angeles, CA 90007 Phone: (213) 740-2414 Fax: E-mail: xma@usc.edu Hanah Margalit Associate Professor in Computational Molecular Biology The Hebrew University of Jerusalem Department of Molecular Genetics and Biotechnology Hadassah Medical School P.O.B. 12272 Ein Kerem Jerusalem, 91120 Israel Phone: 972-2-6758614 / 6758647 Fax: 972-2-6784010 / 6757308 E-mail: hanah@md.huji.ac.il Shipra Mehta University of Southern California 1042 West 36th Place, DBR287 Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (213) 740-2410 E-mail: shiprame@usc.edu George L Gabor Miklos Director Secure Genetics Pty Limited 81 Bynya Road Palm Beach Sydney, Australia Phone: 61 2 9974-3000 Fax: 61 2 9974-3111 E-mail: gmiklos@securegenetics.com Jan Mrazek Stanford University Department of Mathematics Stanford, CA 94305-2125 Phone: (650) 723-2923 Fax: (650) 725-2040 E-mail: mrazek@stanford.edu Mustumi Nakamura Arizona State University Department of Computer Science and Engineering 699 S. Mill Avenue Tempe, AZ 85281 Phone: (480) 727-6047 Fax: (480) 965-2751 E-mail: mutsumi@asu.edu Brian Naughton Apartment 208, Building 94 1094 Tanland Drive Palo Alto, CA 94303 Phone: (650) 213-8266 E-mail: briannau@stanford.edu Jim Noyes Professor Wittenberg University Box 720 Springfield, OH 45501 Phone: (937) 327-6142 Fax: (937) 327-7511 E-mail: jnoyes@wittenberg.edu Debnath Pal University of California, Los Angeles Molecular Biology Institute #105 Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 206-3907 Fax: (310) 206-3914 E-mail: dpal@mbi.ucla.edu Ranjan Perera Associate Director ISIS Pharmaceuticals 2292 Farraday Avenue Carlsbad, CA 92008 Phone: (760) 603-2638 E-mail: rperera@isisph.com Pavel Pevzner Ronald R. Taylor Professor of Computer Science University of California, San Diego Department of Computer Science & Engineering APM 3132 La Jolla, CA 92093-0114 Phone: (858) 822-4365 Fax: (858) 534-7029 E-mail: ppevzner@cs.ucsd.edu

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Sylvia Plevritis Stanford University Radiology Department Lucas MRSI Center, Room P267 1201 Welch Road, Mailcode 5488 Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 498-5261 Fa: (650) 723-5795 E-mail: sylvia.plevritis@stanford.edu Vicente M. Reyes Postdoctoral Fellow University of California, San Diego San Diego Supercomputer Center 9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0505 La Jolla, CA 92093-0505 Phone: (858) 822-3638 Fax: (858) 822-3610 E-mail: vreyes@sdsc.edu Meenakshi Roy Postdoctroal Fellow University of California, Los Angeles Room 601 Boyer Hall 611 Charles E. Young Drive Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 794-4026 Fax: (310) 267-0248 E-mail: meenakshi@mbi.ucla.edu Quansong Ruan University of Southern California Computational Biology 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 289 Los Angeles, CA 90089 Phone: (213) 740-2409 Fax: (23) 740-2437 E-mail: ruan@usc.edu Lukasz Salwinski University of California, Los Angeles 205 Boyer Hall Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 825-1402 Fax: (310) 206-3914 E-mail: lukasz@mbi.ucla.edu Serge Saxonov Stanford University Beckman Center B403 279 Campus Drive Palo Alto, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 723-5976 E-mail: saxonov@stanford.edu Bradley K. Sherman Director of Bioinformatics Mendel Biotechnology, Inc. 21375 Cabot Boulevard Hayward, CA 94545 Phone: (510) 259-6111 Fax: (510) 264-0254 E-mail: bsherman@mendelbio.com Al Shpuntoff IEEE CSB Conference 49 Showers Drive T408 Mountain View, CA 94040 Phone: (650) 208-8690 Fax: (650) 941-2015 E-mail: al@afs4dna.com Elnat Spriznak University of California, Los Angeles 105 Molecular Biology Inst. Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 206-3907 Fax: (310) 206-3914 E-mail: elnat@mbi.ucla.edu Nam Tran Arizona State University Department of Computer Science and Engineering Tempe, AZ 85281-8809 Phone: (480) 921-1296 E-mail: namtran@asu.edu Zhidong Tu University of Southern California Department of Computational Biology 1042 West 36th Place, DBR297 Los Angeles, CA 90089-1113 Phone: (213) 821-2231 Fax: (213) 740-2437 E-mail: ztu@usc.edu Stella Veretnik University of California, San Diego 9500 Gilman Drive La Jolla, CA 92093-0537 Phone: (858) 534-8366 Fax: (858) 822-0873 E-mail: veretnik@sdsc.edu Li Wang University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 202 Los Angeles, CA Phone: (213) 821-3167 E-mail: wang7@usc.edu

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Qi Wang University of California, Los Angeles 609 Boyer Hall Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 794-4026 Fax: (310) 267-0248 E-mail: wangqi@ucla.edu Shoshana Wodak Senior Scientist The Hospital for Sick Children Structural Biology and Biochemistry Program 555 University Avenue Toronto, Ontario M5G 1X8 Canada Phone: (416) 813-5724 Fax: (416) 813-5085 E-mail: shoshana@sickkids.ca John C. Wooley Professor University of California, San Diego 700 University Center, Mail Code 0043 9500 Gilman Drive La Jolla, CA 92093-0043 Phone: (858) 822-3604 Fax: (858) 822-4767 E-mail: jwooley@ucsd.edu Yi Xing University of California, Los Angeles 609 Boyer Hall Los Angeles, CA 90095 Phone: (310) 794-4026 Fax: (310) 267-0248 E-mail: yxing@ucla.edu Min Xu University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 202 Los Angeles, CA Phone: (213) 821-3167 E-mail: mxu@usc.edu Na Xu University of California, Berkeley 367 Evans Hall Berkeley, CA 94720-3860 Phone: (510) 791-6289 E-mail: naxu@stat.berkeley.edu Hua Yang University of Southern California 1042 West 36th Place, DBR287 Los Angeles, CA 90007 Phone: (213) 740-2410 Fax: (213) 740-2437 E-mail: huayang@usc.edu Yuzhen Ye The Burnham Institute 10901 North Torrey Pines Road La Jolla, CA 92037 Phone: (858) 646-3100 x3634 Fax: (858) 713-9930 E-mail: yye@burnham.org Iwei Yeh Stanford University Clark Center S242 318 Campus Drive Stanford, CA 94305 Phone: (650) 725-8010 E-mail: iyeh1@stanford.edu Xiaoyu Zhang University of California, Los Angeles Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology PO Box 951606 Los Angeles, CA 90095-1606 Phone: (310) 206-3336 E-mail: xiaoyu@plantbio.uga.edu Kangyu Zhang University of Southern California 1042 W. 36th Place, DBR 202 Los Angeles, CA 90007 Phone: (323) 363-5935 E-mail: kangyuzh@usc.edu Keyan Zhao University of Southern California Molecular and Computational Biology Program 835 West 37th, SHS 172 Los Angeles, CA 90089 Phone: (213) 821-2819 Fax: (213) 740-8631 E-mail: kzhao@usc.edu

OCR for page 47
Frontiers of Bioinformatics: Unsolved Problems and Challenges Lei Zhuge Postdoctoral Fellow University of Southern California Computational Biology, DBR 289 1042 W. 36th Place Los Angeles, CA 90089 Phone: (213) 821-2229 Fax: (213) 740-2437 E-mail: lzhuge@usc.edu