Rita R. Colwell is Distinguished University Professor both at the University of Maryland at College Park and at Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health as well as Chair of Canon U.S. Life Sciences. Her interests are focused on global infectious diseases, water, and health, and she is currently developing an international network to address emerging infectious diseases and water issues, including safe drinking water for both the developed and developing world. Colwell served as the 11th Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), 1998-2004. She has authored or co-authored 16 books and more than 700 scientific publications. She produced the award-winning film Invisible Seas and has served on editorial boards of numerous scientific journals. Before going to NSF, Colwell was president of the University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute and professor of Microbiology and Biotechnology at the University of Maryland. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society. Born in Beverly, Massachusetts, Colwell holds a B.S. in Bacteriology and an M.S. in Genetics from Purdue University, and a Ph.D. in Oceanography from the University of Washington.

R.E.W. (Bob) Hancock is a Professor of Microbiology & Immunology at the University of British Columbia and is a Canada Research Chair holder. He was the founding Scientific Director of the Canadian Bacterial Diseases Network and currently heads the UBC Centre for Microbial Diseases and Immunity Research. His research interests include antibiotic uptake and resistance, functional genomics and the development of small cationic peptides as novel antimicrobials and modulators of innate immunity. He has published more than 360 papers and reviews and has 18 patents awarded. He has won many awards, including the Canadian Society of Microbiologists Award 1986, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada 1994, the Canada 125 Silver Medal 1995, MRC Distinguished Scientist 1995-2000, Jacob Biely Faculty Research Prize 2000, BC Biotech Alliance Innovation and Achievement Award 2001, Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology 2002, the QEII Jubilee Medal 2002, the Aventis Pharmaceuticals Award 2003, and the Zellers Scientist award and BC Innovation Council Chairman’s award 2004. In 2001 he was inducted as an Officer of the Order of Canada. He is co-Founder of Inimex Pharmaceuticals Inc., and has served as a Scientific Advisory Board Member or consultant with 17

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement