turally competent community-based interventions. He is on the board of directors of the Center for the Advancement of Health and the National Advisory Council for Active Living by Design, sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. In 2004, he was awarded the Alonzo Smyth Yerby Award by the Harvard University School of Public Health for his contributions toward the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities. He has a Ph.D. (1985) from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale.

Karen Dineen Wagner is the Robert L. Stubblefield professor in child psychiatry, vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the University of Texas Medical Branch. Her research focuses on the treatment of depression and bipolar disorder in children and adolescents. She has authored numerous scientific papers in leading psychiatric journals. She is a member of the National Advisory Mental Health Council of the National Institutes of Health, as well as other scientific and professional organizations. In 2004, she was awarded an honorary doctorate from the State University of New York for her accomplishments in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry. She has a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from Temple University and an M.D. from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. She completed her residency in psychiatry at Beth Israel Hospital and a fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at McLean Hospital, both with Harvard Medical School.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement